Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

I read today that it is rumored that Ann Curry, the morning host of the Today Show, is going to be “reassigned” before the Summer Olympics.  Ann Curry is a co-host with Matt Lauer and has been since Meredith Viera left the show.  Since Ann took the spot that Meredith left, ratings have dropped.  The Today Show is in 2nd place now to Good Morning America.  Everything I read has a “blame it on Ann” feel to it.

I used to be a very loyal Today Show viewer.  It was an automatic thing for me to wake up, turn on the Today Show and go on with my morning routine.  It started in high school and continued until about 2 years ago.  I stopped watching the Today Show.  I didn’t replace it with another morning show.  I just turned the TV off.   Why did I stop watching the Today Show?  Ann Curry has little do with it.

First, when did the Today Show decide to become an entertainment show?  It used to be that the “fluffy” stories about celebrities, movies, fashion, etc. were held for the 2nd hour.  Now it seems those stories popped up more and more in the first hour.  Celebrity news was even headlining in the morning when I decided to turn my TV off.   I LOVE celebrity gossip, but the Today Show is no entertainment show.  It seems like the Today Show thinks it’s an entertainment show and it is a very mediocre one at that. News journalists doing celebrity interviews all the time aren’t  great at it.  News journalists need to be doing interviews about news.  Leave Access Hollywood or Entertainment Tonight to do the “in-depth” interviews with the celebrities.

Second, the only people who really care about “the Plaza” are the people on “the Plaza”.  Yes, it’s cool to have your summer concert series out there.  It’s even fine to have certain segments out there that require a lot of space or the outdoors, but generally people in middle America don’t really care about the people standing out on “the Plaza”.  It’s boring and it isn’t newsworthy.

Third, why can’t you time your food segments better?  Anytime you show a chef on there trying to cook something it’s as if the chef thought he/she would have thirty minutes to prepare the food and the Today Show gave them 5 seconds.  Where is the disconnect?  The food segments are always rushed, the food is never demonstrated correctly, steps are missed, the chef is flustered and most times it is a very awkward segment.

Fourth, I know things like having the right shoes for my summer picnic are very important, but leave that to Hoda and Kathie Lee.  If I’m watching my news show in the morning, again shocker, I want my news.

Fifth, why do you have a panel of a health expert, Star Jones and an ad exec analyzing headlines?  How about some in-depth analysis by actual experts on the topics?  I would like to hear political analysis from a political expert, economic analysis from an economist, etc.  Dr. Nancy is great, but leave her to the health topics.

All the articles I read today said that Ann Curry isn’t shining because she is a hard hitting journalist and she needs to be doing that kind of news.  That’s a clue right there Today Show.  Now I don’t have a strong opinion either way of Ann, but the clue is that the kind of stories you are doing aren’t hard hitting news.   Find a balance Today Show.

Your viewers are smart people who want intelligent topics and relevant headlines.  We want good discussions from experts.  We want news headlines that don’t just belong in People Magazine.  It’s a big world out there with a lot going on.  Tell us about it.  Educate us on the situations all over the world, not just in Hollywood or at the latest Royal function.  Change hosts all you want, but if you are going to continue down this entertainment path see if Nancy O’Dell might be available.  If you decide to go back to a show dedicated to the news let me know.  I’m happy to come back.  I miss you.

This is just my opinion…but what do I know?

 

One thought on “The Today Show’s morning headache

  1. KuMPuL says:

    Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp a lot about this, such as you wrote the e-book in it or something. I think that you just can do with some p.c. to power the message home a little bit, however instead of that, that is magnificent blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

