Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

For good or bad, my last post seems to have struck a nerve. I received some pretty interesting feedback when I compared the crowds in support of Chick-fil-A with the segregation crowds of the 1960’s. I have received a lot of support. However, there are many who disagree. I was told told this isn’t a such a black and white issue. This is a freedom of speech issue.

One comment that stood out said this, “This is about the freedom to speak one’s opinion and to live by one’s morals without fear of reprisal.”

I explored this feedback a little further. So let me be perfectly clear, I am completely in support of Dan Cathy’s right to say what he wants. He has that freedom protected by our first amendment, the same way I have a freedom to write my blog. I don’t want people telling me what I can and can’t say. He has the same right as an American citizen to say what ever he wants. If he wants to be against gay marriage, that’s his choice and he has a right.

I also believe in the free market. I believe, as a business owner, Dan Cathy has a right to serve customers he wants. I also believe that the American people can either choose to support a business as intolerant as Chick-fil-A or not. That is also our right as Americans. Nothing speaks louder than profit in this society. If you don’t support what Dan Cathy said, don’t eat at Chick-fil-A. If you do, eat at Chick-fil-A. Dan Cathy is the one who put his consumers in this position. The final vote in this whole matter will be Chick-fil-A’s bottom-line. Maybe society will show they support his views and keep Chick-fil-A profitable. Time will tell.

I used to eat at Chick-fil-A and I was aware of their “Christian values”. His values never got in the way of me enjoying my chicken before. I know a lot of Christians and they have great values. Christian values don’t bother me, it’s intolerance and judgement of others that bothers me. I don’t consider views against homosexuality as a good value. It’s that simple.

Words have consequences. I’m Jewish and I went to a southern Baptist college. I heard lots of hate wrapped up in a blanket of “Christian morals and values.” Statements like, “The Holocaust happened because Jews don’t believe in Jesus.” were said to me. The student had a right to say this, but that doesn’t make it right.

Today will be another interesting day at Chick-fil-A when there is the “kiss-in”. Dan Cathy and I have something in common because we both pray. Today I pray that with the kiss-in we can continue to have a non-violent dialogue. Dialogue like this one of the things that makes this country great. Free market is what will decide if this value is profitable.

Leave a Reply

