Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Eureka!  I’ve figured out what is wrong with the Romney campaign.  Now, I’m no political analyst by profession.  I’m just a divorced, working mom who loves politics.  I’m going to lay out what is wrong with the Romney campaign and I can sum it up in one sentence:

Romney continues to make average Americans feel like crap.

That was complex, right?  Can you believe that no one pays me for this analysis?  Shocker!   It isn’t complex, but I think it gets right to the heart of what’s wrong with Mitt Romney for President.

It seems in my unprofessional opinion that the reason that Romney is losing this campaign is that he continually makes Americans feel terrible.  I feel like his people should issue an apology before he ever opens his mouth.

Obama may have won on “hope” and “change” and it is debatable if that is what he delivered, but most Americans want to feel “hope” and feel they can be part of “change”.

Romney has done nothing in this campaign except continue to make people feel terrible.

I’ll use myself as an example.  Romney recently declared that middle-class is anyone making $250,000 and below.  For a candidate who already has an issue with trying to relate to your everyday American, setting the bar that “middle-class” is at $250,000 is outrageous.  I work hard, but I make a fraction (and I do mean a fraction) of that amount.  What does that make me?  The working poor?  Did Romney just move me into a different class and I wasn’t even aware of it.  Thanks a lot buddy!

Now video is out from Romney that claims that people who use government assistance view themselves as “victims”.  

Nothing about what he said is overly outrageous.  I mean this has been the Republican party line for a while now.  I think the outrage comes down to the fact that it is just another day and another category of Americans that he has made feel like crap.

So what if Romney was at a fundraiser in Boca Raton?  Having high dollar political fundraiser is common to both sides.  Can anyone say Jay-Z and Beyonce for Obama?  (I donate my money to Obama, I’m waiting for my all expense paid trip to the fundraiser!)

The bigger issue is the campaign has no hope.  There is no inspiration.  If an American needs government assistance, they are “victims”.  If you don’t make $250,000 per year, you are poor.  If you are gay, you are wrong, if you aren’t Christian you don’t belong.  I could keep going, but you get my point.

Romney is going to need to have universal healthcare on his platform, because most Americans are going to need anti-depressants before this campaign is over.  Romney is totally bumming us out.  

One thing I’ve learned about playing tennis (and not very well by the way) is just get the ball back over the net and let the other guy make the error.  The odds are that the other guy will beat himself and you don’t have to work so hard trying to make great shots every time.  

Romney, the ball is in your court.

 

Leave a Reply

