Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Congressman Akin,

Leave it to you dust off a phrase that women rarely hear these days.

“I think we have a very clear path to victory, and apparently Claire McCaskill thinks we do, too, because she was very aggressive at the debate, which was quite different than it was when she ran against Jim Talent,” Akin said. “She had a confidence and was much more ladylike (in 2006), but in the debate on Friday she came out swinging, and I think that’s because she feels threatened.”

Read more here: http://midwestdemocracy.com/articles/todd-akin-confident-hell-prevail-over-claire-mccaskill/#storylink=cpy
Lucky for you, I am a lady and I pride myself on ladylike behavior. If I wasn’t such a lady I would have no problem pointing out how insulting comments like this are towards your opponent. I would probably say thank goodness McCaskill is going to kick your ass in a very “manlike” way in the upcoming election. That is of course if I wasn’t such a lady.
If I wasn’t such a pillar of womanhood, I would tell you that comments like the one aimed at McCaskill and the other one where you qualified rape make you seem like a sexist pig.
One thing I will point out in the most virtuous way possible for me to maintain my ladylike demeanor is that maybe McCaskill wouldn’t come out swinging so hard if there wasn’t so much to swing at. It’s amazing to me that McCaskill can contain herself as much as she does when she is running a campaign against a man who would be perfect for an election if it were held in 1812 instead of 2012.
The fact that you have made it this far in politics with this type of mentality about women is beyond me and most ladies that I know. (I can type all of this while still keeping my ankles crossed and not showing too much cleavage during the day.)
May your defeat be swift and leave a mark on all GOP who believe like you. I think you are going to be delivered a very unladylike message in November and I can’t wait to watch that happen.
Yours in ladylikeness,
Aimee
Leave a Reply

