Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

I watched the debates last night.  I will say it even though it pains me greatly – Good job Mitt!  Mitt obviously won the night. I think the problem with Obama is he didn’t seem engaged.  I think with President Obama there are two modes – engaged and not engaged.  He is either speaking so passionately that the audience ends up yelling, “Amen!” or he is disengaged and he sounds like those professors from college where you had to pinch your hand to keep yourself awake.  Obama was talking, but I can’t for the life of me remember any of it.

The best observation of the night came from my 6 year old.  “Maybe they both can be President and just take turns.”

After the debate, I immediately receive fundraising emails from both candidates.  Downloading the Romney VP app signed me up for a flurry of GOP email that I can’t delete fast enough.

There was my daily President Obama email.  In the subject line just one word:  “hey”.

Now, I am not naive to think that President Obama actually sits down to compose emails to me every day.  I know he has people doing that for him.  Here is how I imagine this creative process going:

Group of campaign staffer Gen Ys around a table.

“O.k. so let’s review this email before it goes out.” Staffer A

“Looks good, dude.” Staffer B

“Wait! We need a subject line.  It’s got to be an attention grabbing headline.  We’ve got to say something that will make people really want to open this email and donate to President Obama.”  Staffer A

“Hey dude, I’ve got an idea.” Staffer C

“Eureka!  That’s the subject line.” Staffer A

“What?  Hey dude, I’ve got an idea?” Staffer C

“No.  Just ‘hey’.  It’s simple, casual and to the point.” Staffer A

The whole group erupts giving each other high-fives.

And there you have it.  The subject line of “hey” was typed and sent to millions around the country.

Maybe it didn’t play out this way, but for God’s sake hold someone responsible for this laziness.  I type emails to my family and friends and use the subject line “hey” usually dude follows the hey.  This shouldn’t be coming from the President of the United States.  I realize we are now a casual society, often wearing jeans to work, but this is taking it a step too far.

This reminds me of when I get lazy filing papers away.  I have been known to mark the folders “stuff” when I am just too lazy to actually develop a good filing system.

There is your next subject line campaign staffers – “stuff”.  I give you permission to use it.  I’ll use another word to describe the subject line and President Obama’s performance at the debate – lame.  I have a feeling that one won’t be showing up in a subject line any time soon.

Come on campaign staffers – carb load yourselves, smoke those cigarettes you just starting smoking this campaign cycle, drink a few Red Bulls and look alive.

In the tradition of Obama’s subject line emails, I’ll use one word to wrap this up.

Later

Leave a Reply

