Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Politics in this country are as polarized as ever.  People are unfriending each other on Facebook, because of political posts that are pissing each other off.  This I don’t understand. I view politics just like any other hobby.  I don’t unfriend people, because of their crafting hobbies.  Suzie is posting 50 things to do with pipe cleaners AGAIN I think I’m going to have to unfriend her.

I think with all of my armchair political analysis I have drilled it down to why our nation is so polarized and hostile these days.  Steve Fitzgerald, a KS State Senate candidate summed it up perfectly,  “The contention that I said that one cannot be Catholic or Christian and a Democrat is not an unreasonable summation of what I actually said,” Fitzgerald said. “My actual message was fix the party or leave.”

And there you have it my friends.  Judgement that used to only be reserved for God is now a full contact sport for some politicians.  Vote and believe like me and go to heaven.  Don’t and go burn in hell.  You can’t get much more politically polarizing than that.  It goes much deeper than unfriending on Facebook.

Take for example the campaign for US Senate in Missouri.  I just heard yesterday that the Duggars are campaigning for Todd Akin.  Think about that for a moment.  Are the Duggars known for their massive knowledge about public policy?  No.  Are they known for their sophisticated  understanding about government?  Nope again.  The Duggars are known for their radical practice of Christianity and expertise at home hair permanent waves.  The last time I watched an episode of the Duggars it went like this:

The Duggars decided to doggie sit.  The Duggarettes thought it would be super fun to feed the doggie cheese.  Doggie gobbled up cheese and crapped all over the floor.  Mommie Duggar said no-no to baby Duggars.  The end.

With that we have the official endorsement of Congressman Akin for Senator of Missouri.  Based on?  Help me here… Based on nothing more than their faith.  You mean Todd Akin couldn’t have said to Jim Bob, “Thanks man, you keep cleaning up those rental properties with help from your own child labor, I’ve got this thing.”

You might be thinking to yourself, “What does a Jewish girl know about Christianity?”  Well, turns out, I went to a Southern Baptist College.  I did my share of reading the Bible.  Other than kicking ass at the New Testament category on Jeopardy, it gave me a general understanding and appreciation for Christianity.  Here is what I know.  One party cannot claim a religion.  Christianity is complex and very personal.  If one party can claim it, because of their views on abortion, the other party can claim it because of their views on helping the poor in our country.  I don’t think Jesus would have suggested the poor in this country pull themselves up by their boot straps.

I’ve always found it perplexing when a candidate says that God told him/her that he/she should run for office.  If they don’t win what is the message from God – you’re a loser?

Let’s take an example from our Founding Father’s and Separate Church and State.  Don’t unfriend me on Facebook, because of my political views and I won’t unfriend you because you love scrap booking.  One political party isn’t going to heaven and the other party isn’t going to hell.  This is not all good vs. all bad.  Tone down the hatred and the absolutes that is something that is definitely not religious.  Let people define themselves and their faith.

Now excuse me while I gather my arsenal so I can declare my war on Christmas.  It’s coming up on the season.

13 thoughts on “Who is more Christian the GOP or Dems?

  1. Chad Herring says:

    A rather truncated and impoverished understanding of Christianity if we limit it to Akin and Fitzgerald. Just sayin….

    1. Yes Chad I agree, unfortunately it’s these guys who are running for office. Maybe one day you will change that?

  2. GD says:

    Well, Republicans aren’t Christians, they are Pharisees and follow Authoritiarian leaders. It is all a “show” and there are no works. They would crucify Jesus. As it is said in the book of James, “Faith without works is dead”.

  3. JCtx says:

    The next time someone says that America is a Christian nation, ask them “Which one? Mormon, Roman Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, Protestant, Seventh Day Adventist, Jesuit, Jehovah’s Witness, Presbyterian, Methodist, Baptist, Southern Baptist, Evangelical, Episcopalian, Lutheran, Unitarian, etc.?”

    Now they have a problem. If they pick just one or a couple or three, they’ve basically dissed everyone who is associated with one of the ones not picked. If they say all of them, they’ve denigrated the very real differences between the denominations. Not to mention that not all of those denominations actually support the things that people who think America is a Christian nation support (i.e. not all of them believe that gays are bad or that abortion should be illegal or that we should go to war with Islam).

    The principle of Separation of Church and State does not just protect religion from government and government from religion; it protects religions from each other. Without that separation, the holy wars of the denomination in power vs. the one(s) that are not (see Protestants vs. Roman Catholics) would be raging full on to this day right here in the USA.

    They probably know that the Pilgrims came to America to escape religious persecution. What they don’t know is that the people doing the persecuting were other Christians.

    1. This is an excellent point. Thanks for commenting!

      1. Peter Everts says:

        Indeed, there are so many religions, if there were an actual god, it would severly p.o.’d.

      2. Peter Everts says:

        I think if “god” were female, the world would be a better place.

  4. Peter Everts says:

    Weeeellllll, since there is no “god”, this is all silly.

  5. robin says:

    I am a new reader. I loved your column on “Mixing Religion and Politics..”
    I agree 100%. I also do not understand why no one is talking about the separation of church and state and that one’s personal belief system does not apply to public office participation.
    The Duggars aren’t worth mentioning to campaign for anything.

    1. Thanks for reading and welcome! I appreciate you taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

