Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

A number of days have passed since the horrible murder-suicide of Belcher and Perkins.  Kansas City is grieving and processing the terrible tragedy.  My last post was my initial reaction based on the few facts that came out initially about the incident and my experience working in domestic violence.

There has been a lot of response to my last post – good and bad.  The most interesting is that I have a personal agenda that I am trying to push.

Do I have a personal agenda that I’m trying to push regarding the Belcher/Perkins tragedy?

Yes!

Yes, I have a personal agenda that I am trying to push.  I am not ashamed of it.  In fact, I am not trying to hide it at all.  I want to shout it from the rooftops!

My personal agenda in writing about the  Belcher/Perkins murder-suicide is I don’t want to see another woman get seriously injured or murdered at the hands of an abuser.

Can I be any clearer about my agenda?

I am simply trying to use my knowledge about domestic violence to reach out to people and help them understand what happened so maybe we can prevent another unnecessary murder.

  • Like I said before – all “types” of men abuse women.
  • Leaving is the most dangerous time in a domestic violence relationship.  It is when most homicides happen.
  • Babies can often make domestic violence situations worse.
  • Alcohol and drugs can increase the intensity of domestic violence outbursts, but they are not the cause of domestic violence.
  • The best place for a woman to go when leaving an abuser is to a domestic violence shelter – not to a relative’s home.
  • Don’t focus on the abuser’s behavior and if he will “change”.  Focus on what you can control if you are the one being abused.  Get help!

If you or someone you know is being abused, call the National Domestic Violence Hotline:  1-800-799-SAFE.

Please forward this blog post and get the word out.  Let’s try to save a life.

 

One thought on “The Belcher/Perkins tragedy – No secret in furthering my personal agenda

  1. Did you know that Nov. 25 through Dec. 10 marks the 2012 “16 Days of Activism Against Gender Violence Campaign,” an educational campaign to help raise awareness about domestic violence and resources available to those it impacts? I work at Sprint, and I’m proud to say that we take the safety and security of our employees, customers and other community members very seriously. Whether it comes to domestic violence, Internet safety, distracted driving, wireless availability for low-income Americans or any number of other concerns. Earlier this fall, Sprint was notified that our existing policy regarding early terminations lacked clarity as it related to customers in domestic-violence situations being able to end their current contract. We really took this message to heart and have already updated the existing policy, clarifying this issue. These changes are already being communicated to our Care representatives, and we appreciate the matter being brought to our attention. I work in employee communications and am proud to be able to do a little something to address this issue. Kudos to you, Aimee, for all you’re doing and saying on this subject.

Leave a Reply

