Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear Mr. Green,

 

I wanted to reach out to you after I heard of the United State’s Supreme Court decision regarding the insurance mandate that requires you to provide coverage to your employees that includes the morning after pill.  You challenged the law as a violation of your faith. In your words your family had to  “violate their faith by covering abortion-causing drugs or be exposed to severe penalties.”

Read more: http://www.foxnews.com/politics/2012/12/26/supreme-court-denies-hobby-lobby-request-for-reprieve-from-health-care-mandate/#ixzz2GJ4YTt46

Just a little family planning 101 – the morning after pill changes the lining of the uterus so that an egg is less likely to implant in the uterus.  If the woman is already pregnant it does not cause an abortion.  I know…silly little fact.  Can’t let these things get in the way.  Kind of like scientific facts of  evolution vs. creation, but that’s a debate for another blog.

Back to your bad news – I understand the fines for not complying can be up to $1.3 million dollars per day.  That’s a whole lot of scrapbook materials if you ask me.

Now if you have read any of my blog posts, you know I hate guns and that includes the hot-glue kind so I haven’t been in your store much.  I did, however, go in a few months back.  I was shopping for a frame for a picture I wanted to hang in my new apartment.  My grandparents lived in an apartment. Hanging in their dining room was this Salvador Dali print of Abraham Lincoln. I was fortunate to get this print after they passed away.  Note potential art thieves  it’s a print and not an original.  My brother was blessed with the other valuable art work famously known as the dogs playing poker print.

Dali

Anyway, Abe had to be re-framed before being hung in all of his glory over my fireplace.  Off to Hobby Lobby I went.  Sure enough you had the perfect frame to match my artwork.  If you look a certain way, you can see a cross in this piece.  Of course, most people just see a woman’s tush.

My point to this long story isn’t about the artwork hanging over my fireplace, it’s that your company didn’t seem to have any problems taking my money.  Your faith wasn’t compromised in any way when I purchased my frame.  Here’s the deal – when I worked in family planning, we prescribed lots and lots of morning after pills.  I am proud to say that I helped prevent a lot of unplanned pregnancies.

 

When it comes to making the all-American profit,  your faith doesn’t seem to be an issue when it comes to doing business with women who take the morning-after pills.  I don’t recall any sort of statement saying you won’t take money from women who have had abortions or support family planning.  I read your messages on your website, even the sneaky ones that are in 4 point font.  You didn’t screen me before I came in your store to be sure I believed in your faith.  My credit card worked just fine in your store.

 

Your faith is only “compromised” when it comes to providing birth control for your employees and conveniently that is when it may cost YOU some money.  Nobody is stopping you from closing up your store, starting your own church and preaching to your own congregation.  That way you don’t have to be put in this compromising position.
Just know that you may have made a small profit from the frame I purchased at your store, but every time I look at the ass, I mean cross, that is framed above my fire-place, I’ll think of  your commitment to faith, but the bigger draw of the all-American profit.

Yours in respecting our Supreme Court,

Aimee

 

 

 

One thought on “Dear Hobby Lobby CEO – Excuse my big BUTT

Leave a Reply

