Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dr. Ben Carson, a John Hopkins University Neurosurgeon and a sweetheart of the Republican party, has been making headlines lately.  He was asked on a radio program how liberals treat him, specifically white liberals.

“They’re the most racist people there are, because they put you in a little category, a box. How could you dare come off the plantation.” Dr. Carson said.

Now I am a liberal..some would say a flaming liberal.  I am also white.

OMG..Am I a white racist?

Side note for those reading this blog, did I mention that Dr. Carson is black?  Well he is.  If he was white, this probably wouldn’t have as much sting or cause as much emotional reaction.  White people calling each other racist doesn’t do as much as black people calling white people racist.

So my first step was figuring out why Dr. Carson said this.  It didn’t take me long to remember that he made headlines  recently when he compared gay marriage to bestiality,

“It is a well-established, fundamental pillar of society and no group, be they gays, be they NAMBLA, be they people who believe in bestiality, it doesn’t matter what they are, they don’t get to change the definition.” said Dr. Carson

I think someone got their feelings hurt when he received a bunch of backlash from his homophobic statement.

Well one thing we can say about Dr. Carson is he sure does have a way with words.

Not to get off topic.

Am I a white racist?

I can only speak for myself and not all Democrats as I go down this personal journey to determine if I’m a racist.

Back in college I spoke at a Martin Luther King Jr. rally at a local black church.  It was a very cool experience.

I volunteered my time on a micro-loan project for women in Africa even traveling to Ghana to meet with the women.

I volunteered my time with Women in Community Service working with black women helping them find employment.

I helped one of them deliver her baby.  It’s a long story for another blog post.

As far as my political roots, I am a Democrat, because my family have been Democrats all the way back to LBJ and his signing of the Civil Rights Act.

I voted in the last election and I voted for Obama and he is…

Hispanic…no that’s not right.

Asian..no that’s not right.

Boy, I can’t remember.  I’m really having problems with my memory.  Maybe I need to go see a good neurosurgeon?  Dr. Carson, do you know a good neurosurgeon?

Oh yes, I remember.  He is black.

Dr. Carson I think you’re right.

I am a white racist.

 

2 thoughts on “Am I a white racist?

  1. bobarmi says:

    OMG Aimee is a racist, next she’ll admit she likes to read the Bible and shoot guns. To imagine all this time you covered your racism by helping them po’black folk while your inner self was squirming with loathing. Aimee you are a shining star of hypocrisy, I will save you a spot in the pro life protest line here at the abortion clinic.

    1. Oh hey Bob – Thanks for commenting on my blog and taking the time out to call me an asshole. I’ll take it as it was intended – with love.
      I’m sure you did it while you were taking a break at the local soup kitchen helping to feed the poor. Amazing you can find the time.
      Thanks for commenting. It’s always a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

