Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

I am afraid.

I know that people don’t want to admit this and maybe I am all alone when I write this, but I am putting it out there.

I am afraid.

When I witnessed 9/11 from my balcony in Arlington I was terrified.  I experienced  fear so great that my body trembled and I felt like I couldn’t breath.

On Monday, even though I was thousands of miles from the scene, my throat closed up again.

Then there was the Ricin letters…so similar to the event of 9/11.  Finally this week there was the  explosion in  Texas.

The gun legislation that didn’t pass the Senate  – I’ll admit it – I cried.  Why did I cry over legislation?  I cried, because this week I needed to feel safe. Safe from guns, safe from bombs, safe from poison.

I probably seem so un-American right now.  Americans aren’t supposed to admit to fear.

What is American is to be brave and courageous.  We have heard story after story this week of bravery and courage.  It’s this that make us proud to be Americans.

I think what I’ve come to realize is that bravery and courage can co-exist with fear.

It will take courage for the people of Boston who were at or near the race to walk by that area again, but I know they will do it.  It has taken unbelievable courage for the people of Sandy Hook to take their children to school again and it will take courage for the people of that Texas town to heal and rebuild.

All of these things require bravery and courage.

It doesn’t mean that people aren’t afraid.

I am putting it out there, because right now I feel like I am the only one that feels this way.

Maybe it makes me weak.

Maybe that makes me un-American.

I’ll let you decide.

 

2 thoughts on “This week in fear

  1. You’re well within your rights to be afraid. However, I think you should know that I don’t feel you should be.

    I’m the least spiritual person that I know. But I honestly believe that there is a beautiful randomness to the world. If you were spiritual, you might call it “God’s Plan” if you weren’t, like me, you might just say it’s organized chaos.

    My point from all this is that when it’s your time, it’s your time. Time spent “worrying” is wasted. As the events this week continue to remind us, there is no modicum of complete safety. Those folks standing by the mailbox on Boylston street probably felt completely safe. Those old folks spending their final years in the old folks’ home in Texas probably felt pretty safe as well.

    At the same time, people spending hours hardening their home, or stocking up on guns or whatever. Those guys get no “safer” by their actions. They get no safer by worrying and fretting.

    My point is, it’s a waste of effort. What you should do, respectfully, is continue to chip away at what you feel passionate about. You should spend time battling, and fighting, and appreciating, and loving. Not worrying. Worrying does nothing. It achieves nothing. There are so many other things to do with your time.

    –A Supporting American

  2. bobarmi says:

    Bravery and courage are not the absence of fear. Bravery and courage are what you display in spite of fear.

Leave a Reply

