Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Jason Collins came out as the first openly gay player in the NBA.

Female professional athletes commented, “Been there, done that.”

However, there are so many in this country that are supporting his decision.

There was one comment from an ESPN commentator that is getting a lot of attention.  Chris Broussard, basketball analyst, responded to Jason Collin’s announcement,

“If you’re openly living in unrepentant sin, whatever it may be, not just homosexuality, (but) adultery, fornication, premarital sex between heterosexuals … I believe that’s walking in open rebellion to God and to Jesus Christ,”  Broussard said. “I would not characterize that person as a Christian, because I don’t think the Bible would characterize them as a Christian.”

“Thank God for Broussard speaking honestly about how many people feel about homosexuality…wait a minute.  Did he just dis heteros?  What the?”

It suddenly dawned on very few that Broussard called people who play and most who watch the NBA a bunch of sinning whores who are damned to hell. This means that Michael Jordan and Magic Johnson are not Christian (both adulterers).  And that my friends is all my basketball knowledge. (applause)

Maybe the “A” in NBA stands for Atheists?

Well since Broussard damned most of us to hell, we should move on…I mean everyone else to hell (Hi mom if you’re reading 🙂

This morning on a local radio show I heard the announcement being discussed as “no big deal”.  It is nothing like Jackie Robinson and the integration of baseball the host said.

Who is to judge one significant trailblazer vs. another?

I’m not naive to think that  that Collins was the first gay male athlete.  There were others who came out after they were finished playing professional sports.  It wasn’t like they finished playing sports and then decided to be gay.  They just waited until they were done to announce it.  I think we all know that the machismo attitude of players and fans is brutal.  Having Collins come out  will hopefully change that dynamic.

The most interesting thing to me about the announcement is to see the kind of impact it will have in the locker room and stands.  Being black/Hispanic/Asian is something you can see.  You may decided to  change your words because you know a minority is in front of you (I said “may” for all of you skinheads out there).  Being gay isn’t something you can see.  Calling someone a fag/pussy/homo may become a whole different matter if the person is actually gay.  

In this case Collins is proving to America that there are professional male athletes that are gay.

Trust me…as a Jew who has the last name of Patton, I know this to be true. 99.5% of the time people are decent and are not bigots.  However there is that .5% of the time when people are assholes.  They say horrible things and don’t realize that you are Jewish.  You have a choice to make when that happens.  Stay silent and nobody is the wiser or have the courage to speak up.  I can honestly say that I haven’t always had the courage.  It’s just so stinking hard.  There is this feeling of why me?  Why do I have to educate this idiot?  What’s the point?  And I’m a nobody.  I’m not a professional athlete with the entire nation watching me play and with millions of young fans looking up to me.

If I haven’t had the courage every time I’ve heard someone make an anti-semetic remark not knowing there was a Jewish person in the room I have to stand back and say…

Jason Collins you are my hero.  Your bravery and courage is remarkable.

For what it is worth, well done.

 

One thought on “Jason Collins, a true American hero..or not. You decide.

  1. michael says:

    An American Hero? NO not at all. An American hero is someone willing to give up his/her life fighting for this country/freedom/COTUS/RIGHTS!!! Just because of your sexual orientation and the fact you can play ball in no way makes you a American hero or IMO a hero at all. I by the way do support gay marriage. However i think all this BS is just dumb, and the fact the POTUS made an effort to give him a call just shows our priorities in this country.

Leave a Reply

