Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

girlwithgunAnother day, another shooting.

Details: 5-year-old boy shootings and kills 2-year-old sister in Kentucky.

As I was reading the horrible details of this “accident” something caught my attention.  This wasn’t some usual story about a gun left lying around by a parent or a parent cleaning the firearm and it going off.  Oh no…this story is unusual because the owner of the gun was the 5-year-old boy.

Let that one sink in for a minute.

The 5-year-old boy received the Crickett rifle as a gift.

The little boy OWNED the gun.

I’m still trying to figure out what makes me want to lose all hope in humanity more…that this kid received a rifle as a gift or that they make rifles for children.  We are talking about real rifles here people, not the rifles that shoot air bullets or BBs, but real rifles that kill animals or in this case sisters.

I went to the website to check it out.  Crickett Firearms makes these little gems.  They come in camo color for the boys and hot pink for the little girls.  See the above picture.  That is a little girl holding her rifle that can shoot REAL bullets.

See the gallery of these sweet children holding their rifles.  

Retailers like Walmart and Cabela’s sell these rifles for designed for children.  I researched the age limit for owning a rifle in America.  What I found was that it is LEGAL for children to own rifles if they are gifted to them.  That means children like this little 5-year-old who still believes that Santa comes down the chimney can receive a rifle capable of killing his sister and it’s perfectly legal.  Merry Freakin’ Christmas!

I just can’t wrap my head around this.  I think it’s one thing to go out hunting with dad and hold dad’s gun.   It’s another thing to have a little child own their own gun with bullets.  To me it’s the difference between letting little Johnny hold the steering wheel while you drive the car and letting little Johnny have the keys and take the car for a spin.

Having a six-year-old daughter, I can’ tell you she still believes in the tooth fairy, she still pretends her baby dolls are real and she sure as hell wouldn’t understand that if she shoots a gun that death is permanent.

To the parents of this 5-year-old who shot his sister – I say they should be arrested on murder charges.  There was no accident here, it was just a matter of time.

Direct from the testimonial site of Crickett (now excuse me while I bash my head into the nearest wall):

“My wife told me to do something with my daughter after gymnastics today, she recommended going for hot chocolate or a donut. I thought, that’s not special, plus once you’ve consumed the item where does that leave you. Instead we bought a pink Crickett from my six year old daughter and wanted to say thanks for making quality affordable firearms for new shooters. The ‘girls’ option is especially appreciated because as scary as it sounds the color really helped get her excitet about it. Bethany says thanks too! She’ll be quite fashionalble at the Sportsman Club tomorrow.” Chris “I wanted to tell you about my daughter’s first gun. For Christmas 05′ My oldest kid,6,wanted Santa to bring her, her first real gun. When her teacher at school told the class to write a letter to Santa about what they really wanted for Christmans, she wrote “I want a rel gun my size”. The teacher said she couldn’t write that at school and had to write something else. When she told me and her mom about that I decided taht if i had to sell one of my guns to get her one I would..Luckally I didn’t have to sell any of mine to get Chris her gun. She is so responsible, and had proved it with a bb gun, that my wife and I went shopping a few days before Christmas…Our local gun store had just the perfect model in stock. Pink laminiated stock and stainless barrel. To see her face on Christmas morning after opening te wrapping paper was priceless. Out of the box she was a crack shot at 10-15 yeards, and just yesterday she bagged her first ground squirl at about 15 yards..thank you for such a great product that has brought so much fun and joy to my kid…and our family.”Michael “I just wanted to send in a photo of my daughter’s new Crickett rifle. I ordered it from Gander Mountain.It is a bull barrel thumbhole pink laminated stock model. I added a bipod and a 3.5x10x50 scope. It turned out to be a great little target gun for her. I enjoy shooting it too.”

Larry — From GA

2 thoughts on “Pink rifles are for little girls…

  1. The parents bear all responsibility for this tragedy. Five years old is way too young to start. Simple things like checking the chamber (it was left loaded) and locking the gun up when not in use would have prevented this from happening.

  2. lwk2431 says:

    “To the parents of this 5-year-old who shot his sister – I say they should be arrested on murder charges. There was no accident here, it was just a matter of time.”

    Probably some charge that includes the word “negligent.” However stupid these parents were, what are we trying to accomplish here? You don’t think making an example of them is really going to make an impression on the kind of mentality that is this stupid, do you?

    Both my boys had 22 rifles as kids when they were growing up (one is in the Marine Corps now). But when they weren’t being supervised with it, at the range usually, it was locked in a gun cabinet. The best time to teach real gun safety that sticks is when kids are fairly young.

    So that was a bad one, right? And maybe you bemoan those poor, ignorant, untrained gun owners, right? How about the trained ones, the badged ones, the government employed ones?

    Well it is not all that unusual for a police officer to lose a loaded gun in the bathroom and notice some time later it is missing … Happens. How about the BATFE agent who lost a fully loaded, fully automatic submachine gun? Some gang banger probably has a nice little Beretta now. Should we charge him with murder when the inevitable happens with that gun? Or about the group Chicago cops who unloaded on some guy and ended up wounding three or four people in the general vicinity?

    lwk
    free2beinameirca2.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

