Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

It’s graduation time in America.  I remember my graduation like it was yesterday…give or take ten or twenty years.  I also remember my commencement speaker.  Such a powerful speech that still sticks with me today.  I’m often reminded of that speech about…

give me a sec…

about….leadership!  I’m sure there was something in there about leadership.  I’m also 65% sure there was something in there about leaving my mark on society.  I have no doubt that there was a cool Billy Joel or Don Henley quote finishing up the commencement speech given by….

give me a minute….given by….

Moving on.

Speaking of a commencement address, turns out Rep. Kevin Cramer, R-North Dakota gave a doozie of a speech to the University of Mary. I feel like I’m missing the “land” at the end of Mary.  It’s just University of Mary.  I was reading the Huffington Post and this story caught my attention.

See, Rep. Kevin Cramer decided not to go the tradition route of pumping up the new grads with a speech about leadership and making a mark on society, he thought he would spice things up with a real upper speech about mass murders, moral decay and abortion!  Let’s give a big graduation party foul to Rep. Cramer.  Way to bum every out dude.

It’s one thing to suck all the joy out of our new grads as you send them out into the world, but your depressing one/two punch doesn’t even make sense.

From Rep. Cramer’s speech,

“Forty years ago, the United States Supreme Court sanctioned abortion on demand,” he said in his speech at the University of Mary on May 4. “And we wonder why our culture sees school shootings so often.”

What the?  Alex, I’ll take massive overreach resulting in nonsense for $100.  

I would have changed this up slightly Rep. Cramer.  How about this..

“Forty years ago, the United States Supreme Court sanction abortion on demand (as well as movies on demand – shout out to Time Warner).  It’s because of this that you were a planned and wanted pregnancy.  Go thank your parents, make a lot of money so that you can afford to put them up in a wonderful retirement home. Congratulations Graduates of 2013! Now let’s party!

See its has a slightly more positive and uplifting tone.  Not quite so much Debbie Downer.  

You said it was no wonder the Huffington Post criticized your speech since it was a liberal blog.  Well this blog also tends to lean-to the left.  So much so that sometimes I have been known to fall over when writing it.  You said you “were  trying to convey a message centered on speaking the truth about today’s culture.”

When it comes to graduates, they have their whole lives to figure out the truth about life.  No need to feel obligated in a commencement speech to provide them with harsh truths.  Next time focus on inspirational messages.  They are going to need all the inspiration they can get to make it through the hash reality this nation is going to give them.

Then again, I’m just a blog writer who leans to the left and tries not to fall over.  What do I know?

2 thoughts on “Debbie Downer Commencement Speech by Rep. Kevin Cramer

  1. Brian Jones says:

    Good Grief. What was this guy thinking?

    1. North Dakota resident says:

      He was thinking about getting his name in the paper, being of the sort that figures any mention of North Dakota is a good mention because oil jobs!

Leave a Reply

