Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

20130703-203648.jpg

I’m on day 7 out of 9 of my trip to Ireland. Still not tried a Guinness, but I have become intimately familiar with Carlesberg. The three colors to sum up the trip – Green, Gray and White. No, it obviously doesn’t represent the flag. Green for the landscape, gray for the weather and white for the food.

I’m going to need a Vitamin D shot when I return to the states. Holy gray and rainy. I love the landscape, but I would develop a mood disorder within 6 months.

When they say there are 40 shades of green, they aren’t kidding. I’ve done the country by coach and by that I mean bus, not seating on an airplane. If I could make one teeney weeney recommendation for this almost perfect country – straight roads. When you come up on a sign that says, “cork screw road ahead” it’s too late to take the Dramamine.

Since I’m traveling with my conservative friend Darla Jaye, here is how our trip has gone…from landmarks and discussions per day.
Castle
Immigration reform
Castle
Guns in America
Castle
The Obama Presidency
Sheep
Healthcare reform
Cliffs
Foreign relations
Castle

If I was a betting woman I would say that there is another castle in my future. No problem, because castles rock. I think that my new goal in life is to have a castle. It may be drafty and a bit damp, but seriously cool. Yes, it’s 2013, but who couldn’t use a murder hole? Google that if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

Notable things if you know me and are betting on it:
1. Yes I injured myself. It was on day 2 getting into a high wall bathtub to take a shower. Stepped in and my heel slips out from under me. It was kind of like a baby giraffe learning how to walk. I slipped and hit my knee. I ended up with a bruise the shape of Iowa on my thigh and the size of a bottom of a bottle of Jameson on my knee. I just like to think I’m practicing for my senior citizen years. On a slipping scale it would be a 9. If I would have hit my chin it would have been a perfect 10.

2. Darla has kissed a lot of Irish men. I think the count is 12 to be exact. Nothing a little hand sanitizer to the cheek can’t clean up.

3. Darla and I are great traveling companions. We might debate like its Cross Fire, but in the end we are great buds.

4. Darla and I both kissed the Blarney Stone. For two women who don’t need the gift of gab any more, we couldn’t resist doing it anyway.

More from when I return. Great country, great beer…and the food well how about if I go back to telling you about the beautiful country.

2 thoughts on “A conservative and a liberal do Ireland

  1. Amy says:

    Can’t wait for you to get back. My Thursdays are empty with you on the radio!

    1. I will be on with Darla Jaye to talk about our trip on Thursday- a week from today. Happy 4th of July and thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

