Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Hearts filled with clogged arteries were beating a bit sadder today as Kansas City faced the fast food workers strike.  Cities around the nation had similar strikes that involved workers from the trifecta of convenience crap – McDonalds, Wendy’s and Burger King.

The workers chanted “hey hey ho ho poverty has got to go.” ManSANYO DIGITAL CAMERAagers from these three food chains shouted “hey hey ho ho our employees didn’t show”.  (Ok busted- the managers weren’t chanting that, but I am really proud of my ability to rhyme.)

The workers want an increase in their hourly wages to $15.00 from an average of $8.00.

Whatcha talking about Ronald?

That’s right – $15.00 per hour.  As the striking workers marched TinkerBell showed up an threw her pixie dust on all of the fast food restaurants and the workers will all now be receiving $15.00 per hour.

The end…

OK – snap out of it.  You and I both know that didn’t happen.

What did happen?  Increased awareness that our fast food workers don’t make peanuts.  So every time I drive thru my local McDonald’s I will say, “sorry dude” as I grab my biggie fries.

Am I outraged at how little fast food workers make?  Yes.  Do I think this strike will mean much?  No.

The medical industry has already provided me about a thousand reasons NOT to feed my kids at fast food restaurants.  Fast food increases our risk of diabetes, obesity and heart attacks, yet I continue to frequent the unhealthy chains.  Paying their workers below a fair wage, isn’t going to change America’s desire to feed our faces with cheap and convenient food.

Sorry Charlie that you don’t make enough to put your kid in diapers, but I need my burger and fries NOW and I don’t want to pay much for it.  Start increasing prices to compensate for higher wages at one burger joint and I will drive my car a mili-block to the next fast food chain so I can get my burger and fries NOW and cheaper. Maybe if America didn’t have a fast food restaurant on every corner, the workers may have some leverage?

The good news is today isn’t National Hamburger Day, but it is National Lasagna Day. Boil the noodles and grab some mozzarella – it’s Lasagna time!

Ciao,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

