Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear people who live in the suburbs, people who frequent Facebook and people who currently have health insurance:

I’ve got a little secret.  Lean in real close…

Guess what?  This is probably going to come as a shock, but the Affordable Care Act doesn’t apply to you.

(Insert HUGE gasp!)

I know.  It’s shocking.  Based on all of the outrage that is coming from the Republicans and the media blitz that has taken place this last week, you would think that it does have everything to do with you, but it doesn’t.  I actually heard claims like..

“Obamacare is causing the downfall of our economy.”

“Our nation will crumble under the weight of Obamacare.”

“Big business will fail, because of Obamacare.”

You get the picture.  It seems all the rage right now to blame Obamacare for just about everything. In fact, I’ve taken to substituting the word “shit” for “Obamacare”.  A guy cut me off in traffic on my way home.  I hit the breaks, “Obamacare man! Watch where you are going!”  I got a papercut at work, “Obamacare! That hurt.”

I think since the most vocal opponents to the Affordable Care Act are those WITH health insurance, how about if we take it a step further and just blame all of our suburban rage on Obamacare.  For example:

  • If your cable goes out during a big football game – ‘damn Obamacare!’
  • The drive-thru get your meal wrong and forget the packets of ketchup – ‘freaking Obamacare!’
  • Susie’s soccer practice is at a different time and field than when and where you show up – ‘Ugh..Obamacare!’

If my memory serves, these same people were griping about how the uninsured were using our emergency rooms as their primary care clinics not so long ago to the tune of…oh what was it?

From the American College of Emergency Physicians:

Hospitals and physicians shoulder the financial burden for the uninsured by incurring billions of dollars in bad debt or “uncompensated care” each year. Fifty-five percent of emergency care goes uncompensated, according to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Health care costs for both the full-year and part-year uninsured will total $176 billion dollars this year – $86 billion of which will be incurred when they are uninsured. 

“See, it’s that damn Obamacare to blame!”  Wait, I guess that didn’t work like I wanted it to and in fact it may help solve this problem.  I am, however, out of Diet Coke – “I curse you Obamacare!”

10 thoughts on “It’s all the rage to rage against Obamacare

  1. Well at least you have stopped blaming Bush for everything.

    1. I still blame Bush for most things 😉

  2. cass says:

    Ummm….and who do you think is going to pay for all these uninsured people who will now be getting healthcare? We are….all us suburbanite, gainfully employed people…..so excuse me but yes it does affect us!

    1. Who do you think paid for them before when they used the ER for a cold? That’s why a Tylenol at the hospital cost $20 per pill.

  3. Kent C. says:

    Hard to believe you can’t see the “TRAIN WRECK” that is coming………..let’s talk in 12 months……

    1. Ok-same time and same place one year from now!

  4. michael dorsey says:

    Listening to you on Darla Jaye, you compared Obamacare to auto insurance. You said you have to buy auto insurance, true, but only if I want to drive , but the only way I can legally not comply with Obama care is to not live. Explain how this is good for me.

    1. Really-not to live is the only way not to comply? I thought I was dramatic! Thanks for reading and commenting!

  5. Brian Jones says:

    Amiee, I am going to sign up for Obamacare. I just hope everything turns out alright.
    I’m a 40 part time worker without health insurance.
    Health insurance is something that I can not do without.
    Thank you for being on Darla Jaye last night.
    I recording the whole hour on audio tape.
    Brian Jones

Leave a Reply

