Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

In a few days, the whole world will be watching Maryville, MO for the #justicefordaisy rally on October 22, 2013.

Here is a summary from the Facebook page #justicefordaisy about what happened according to Daisy Coleman:

At 14, My friend and I was given a cup of clear liquid, and while unconscious, brutally raped by my small town’s star football player while his friend recorded it. I was left for dead in sub-freezing temperatures on my front porch. Two weeks later my mothers employment was terminated by her boss (a friend of Matthew Barnett’s Family). Despite overwhelming physical evidence, the prosecutor dismissed the case after two months. My house was mysteriously burned down two months after the dismissal. My family has been driven out of our small Missouri town and the boys who ruined our lives prosper.

I deserve justice.

I believe that Daisy deserves justice just like I believe that all victims of crime deserve justice.  Daisy may actually get justice in this case all because of the great reporting by the Kansas City Star and the group Anonymous.  The power of social media makes me catch my breath, because sometimes I think we don’t even realize the power of it all – the power to come together for the greater good and the power to so easily destroy.

I’ll be honest, I’m worried about the rally.  For all the comments of support on the Facebook page and Twitter feed, there are harassing messages – to the accused rapist, his family, the sheriff, the town.  At what point is this no longer a supportive rally and does it start becoming vigilante justice?   In a gun happy culture, especially in Missouri, are we teetering on the edge of taking the law into our own hands?

“We got a phone call last night: ‘Your son is going to get a bullet through his head’,” said one of the owners of the A&G Restaurant. http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/world/maryville-missouri-struggles-to-come-to-grips-with-a-rape-scandal-that-has-circled-the-world/story-fnhrvhol-1226743629367

The anger for this case seems explosive and I think it’s because there are so many elements in this case that people can identify with. Who isn’t sick of thinking that the rich and connected in this country play by a different set of rules? Who isn’t scared for the safety of our daughters in this culture?

I am angry and I want to see justice for Daisy like everyone else.  What I am not in this case is judge, jury and executioner.  I feel terrible for Daisy and all the women like her who have experienced rape.  I hope that all of their rapists see their day in court and serve time for their crimes. I hope that Daisy finds peace one day and learns to live a productive life free from the trauma of that night.  I hope Daisy and women like her are provided all of the mental health resources that they need to help them heal and become whole again.

If you are going to Maryville on October 22 – offer Daisy love and support.  Remember – you are not judge, jury and executioner, but you can be key in helping Daisy, her family and the town heal.  Please go in peace.

One thought on “#justicefordaisy rally on Tuesday – I’ll admit I’m worried.

  1. If only the responsible football player would man up admit his crimes, but then again he is a rapist, which next to child molesters are the lowest form of criminal. I do not advocate vigilantism, we are a country of laws, let justice take it’s course.

Leave a Reply

