Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Quick background for those who haven’t read my previous post.  I work for a small company who encouraged me to check out Obamacare as a way to save money on medical insurance if we were interested.  Our medical insurance IS NOT GOING AWAY.  I jumped on the ACA website and filled out my form.  I submitted my application and now…

Now I wait,

and wait,

and wait.

My application is sometimes “in process” and sometimes “incomplete” depending on when I log in.  I don’t know why it goes back and forth, but I’m guessing that’s the little glitch that Kathleen keeps talking about. Instead of overreacting like 99% of Americans, I’m going to find a way to pass the time.

So I’ve started juicing.

That’s right.  I might as well get healthy while I wait for my new health insurance options.  I had a wee impulse buy the other night at 3:30 am and did a “one-click” buy on Amazon and ended up with a juicer.  It’s a long story, but it had to do with watching a documentary on Netflix about juicing your way to optimal health.  This woman suffered from migraines on the documentary and after a 10 day juice fast she was CURED!

So now I’m the proud owner of a juicer.  I’ve had migraines since I was 7 – the big, bad ugly type of migraines with the auras.  They are genetic, they hurt like hell and they have never allowed me to enjoy a lovely glass of red wine in my life.  Right now my migraines have me taking preventative medication and medication when the headaches hit cost me $65 for 6 pills.  I need 2 pills per attack.  Sometimes I get a migraine every other week.  You do the math.

This blog isn’t a pity party to myself – except the red wine part.  The lady on the documentary said her migraines were CURED from juicing and that’s all I needed to hear.

My new juicer arrived and off to the produce section of my local grocer I went to discover what kale was.  Note – it is not a trendy new name for boys, it is actually a vegetable and I needed to buy A LOT of it.  I purchased kale, celery, pears, apples, ginger, romaine, lemons and spinach for a grand total of a lot of money.

I got home almost giddy with excitement of juicing that I forgot my frustration with the Obamacare website.  My application may have gone from processing to incomplete, but I was going to be definitely processing some juice.

I washed my veggies like a good juicer.  Here’s the deal – juicing like the Obamacare roll out takes PATIENCE.  If you shove all your veggies in the juicer AT ONE TIME your juicer will overload and the top will pop off the juicer and you will have GREEN veggie juice all over your counters, your cabinets and your new white t-shirt.

I went from processing my juice to incomplete.

sigh…

Leave a Reply

