Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Can I do it?

Can I live with myself if I do it?

Everybody is doing it.  Surely, it can’t be so bad.

Why can’t I do it?

This is the debate going on inside my head as I deal with Krazy in Kansas.  In case you have been living under a rock, Kansas continues to set the standards for living in the dark ages by passing HB2453 this week denying service to homosexuals.  There were other things in the homophobic bill, but that basically sums it up.  This bill just follows one after the other of extremist Republicans bills being sent out of Topeka. 

So now what?  A political savvy friend of mine who I really respect posted on Facebook,

3 Hard Truths
1. Math: The ksleg DOES represent KS. Those Kansans who vote in August. Don’t like what’s going on, mad they’re not listening? Why would they, by-and-large, you don’t vote when it matters – August. It’s not about politics, but basic math.

2. Get over it: You wanna vote in August, where MOST races are decided? The only way to exercise your RIGHT to vote in August is to register Republican.
I know you’re disgruntled & embarrassed, changed to unaffiliated as a statement, I’ve heard it all. To quote Dr. Phil: How’s that workin’ out for ya?

3. Form: All I’m saying is you don’t have to put a Santorum sticker on your car (:!) but your RIGHT to vote relies on this form. https://www.kdor.org/voterregistration/
(Steps off soapbox)

In case you haven’t noticed in blog post after blog post, I am a hard-core Democrat.  I’ve always been a Democrat and have NEVER voted Republican.  It’s not that I dislike Republicans.  Some of my best friends are Republicans (shout out to Darla Jaye).  It’s just that Republican philosophy goes against so many things I really believe in.

The #2 of this list hit home for me.  I need to file in Kansas as a Republican if I’m going to vote in the primaries.  In Kansas, the hard truth is that the options are moderate Republican or extremist Republican.  If you vote Democrat, you spend a lot of time not voting and therefore changing nothing.

So is it time I bite the bullet and register as a Republican?  Surely, the voting office will laugh their asses off when I change parties.  Will I lend my voice to the moderate Republicans and help them win?  Do I play the game knowing full well that I’m not a Republican? 

Even though the blogging content is golden in this state, the reality is that the laws are outrageous and it just seems to continue to get worse.

What will I decide?  What are your thoughts?  Should I jump parties?

Signed,

Desperate for Change in Kansas

11 thoughts on “Dare I say, I may change parties and vote (gulp) Republican in Kansas

  1. Ryan says:

    Thank you for the link. I am now a registered Republican. (GASP!) I figure if they can rig voting maps to undermine my child’s education I can register as the enemy.

    1. If you can do it, I can do it. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Will Notb says:

    Registering as a rethug is a start. Next up, working to change the system so no one need register as anything – nowhere in the constitution does it mandate one must ‘register’ with any political party. That’s simply a tool crafted by those in power to remain in power by illegally limiting access to certain elections (primaries et al) to only certain (party affiliated) voters.

  3. Mindy says:

    Move across the state lines to Missouri, where we don’t register by party! 😉

    1. Thanks for the suggestion Mindy, but I’m a Kansas girl at heart. 🙂 Cheers!

  4. Angela says:

    Your registration is only for the primary. You can change your affiliation after the primary. It’s a nuisance, I agree. I kind of understand why it’s done this way, but at the same time, I wonder if it keeps people from voting. The primary functions sort of like a caucus, which is only for a particular party. In a caucus or primary, each party chooses who will run from their party in the general election. So, in that way, the system makes sense.

  5. Maybe you should look at who vote “FOR” this bill and you will see that it was about 60/40 Rep/Dem who voted for it. Almost half of the dems in the house also voted in favor of this bill. It was not a “Republican” pass. If it would have relied solely on Republicans it would have failed as enough voted “No.”

  6. Gavin says:

    Hi,

    I’m new here, but I think this is an intriguing discussion. I have a friend, a moderate Republican who holds elected office and she has been begging me to switch registration because to do so means I can vote for her. She is convinced she will be targeted by the Tea Party right in her next campaign and needs all the primary votes she can get. She pretty much views the general election as almost worthless and understands that it will be a coronation of whoever wins the Republican primary. She figures that structural Republicanism will take over and that the natural tendency of Kansas voters to vote “R” will win the election for whoever gets the nomination.

    Maybe.

    But there are a bunch of reasons why I can’t do as she requests and switch parties. First, being a Democrat, and a liberal Democrat, is simply a part of the fabric of who I am. I’m a lot of things. I’m a father, a husband, a lawyer. But before I was any of those, I was a Democrat. I do view it as part of my identity and I don’t feel I should give up part of my identity. I know that your post quotes a friend who says “get over it,” but that’s pretty glib. Maybe your friend doesn’t think that being a Democrat is such a big deal. Good for him/her. But who does your friend think he/she is telling me what I need to get over? Just because it’s not important to your fiend doesn’t mean it’s not important.

    Second, I don’t view it as my responsibility to “fix” the Republican Party. I know that isn’t exactly the point of your post, but it was my friend’s point. She said, essentially, quit complaining about the Kansas Republican Party and register as a Republican and help fix it. Er, not to put too fine a point on it, but it’s not my JOB to fix the Republican Party. I want a legislature controlled by DEMOCRATS. While that may seem like a pipe dream right now, I have no interest in assisting a Republican Party that is so intent in destroying the state I love. Why do I want to help moderate the Republican Party when I can help get more Democrats elected and, dream of dreams, maybe even help get liberalize the DEMOCRATIC Party?

    And lest anyone think that I’m just being ridiculous, I understand why it looks that way, but the Charlie Cook Political Report keeps downgrading the Kansas gubernatorial race from “safe Republican” to “leans Republican” and is now, if I am not mistaken (which I could be) to “competitive.” It wasn’t that long ago that Kansas elected Kathleen Sebelius and then reelected her as Governor. It also wasn’t that long ago that we had Dennis Moore, Jim Slattery and Dan Glickman as Congressmen representing the state. There’s a history of electing Dems around here and while I will be the first to admit that it looks bleak right now, why do I want to help the Republican Party have more electable Republicans running for office?

    Napoleon Bonaparte once said something to the effect of “Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake.” Does any Democrat honestly believe the Republicans are doing themselves any long-term good with the ridiculousness they are peddling? I do not. And while it is shameful and embarrassing, it is not my share or embarrassment because I’m not one of them and I am working hard to prevent them from being elected. It’s not my job to help them or save them and I will not do either.

  7. Jim L says:

    If I had a plan for spying or sabotaging the other side I might consider joining up with them. However, I just can’t bring myself to do it — even if it means my voice will be harder to hear. I don’t always follow anyone or any thoughts or point of view blindly but, overall, my face is pretty darn blue in KS. It seems to me it would be more important to stick to principles and fight the good fight one person at a time, one vote at a time, one brainless legislator at a time.

  8. Brian Jones says:

    Aimee, I have been where you are now. Before 2008, I was a life long democrat. My family are democrats. It was during the 2008 election that I signed up to be an election judge. I switched parties. I knew Pelosi, Reid, and Obama were going to be trouble. It turns out I was right. I saw the light. Liberals are not to be trusted. No offense. I want to be free to live how I want live without being told how to live. Being a conservative gives a chance to do that.

    1. steve fox says:

      nice! Mr. Jones …the truth will set you free..and you wont have to be a liar like democrats signing up for the republican primary..you see this is why liberals cannot ever be trusted…just read this thread and it explains a great deal about the character of a democrat.

Leave a Reply

