Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear Kansas Republicans,

Now that I’m a Republican, I feel like I have to reach out to you about something that is concerning me.  I found out that there is a new bill up for debate – HB 2620.  What is HB 2620?  It’s a opt-in sex education bill for our Kansas schools or as I like to call it the “put your fingers in your ears, yell LA LA LA and pretend our teens aren’t having sex” bill.

The bill establishes a mandatory opt-in program for sex education. It prohibit the display or distribution of instructional materials on health and human sexuality to any student whose parents didn’t opt-in.

Now I was a teenager once and nothing says bullying from other kids like having to sit out sex education class because mommy won’t let you go.  What are you going to do with the kids who opt out?  Line them up in the hallway while everyone else learns about the birds and the bees?  I thought Kansas was an anti-bullying state.  Bills like this ASK for kids to bully other kids.

Now I could list off all of the facts that support sex education in schools – like this one from the Guttmacher Institute:

Strong evidence suggests that comprehensive approaches to sex education help young people both to withstand the pressures to have sex too soon and to have healthy, responsible and mutually protective relationships when they do become sexually active.[23]

but I won’t bore you with stat after stat.  Here’s I feel like I need to do ask a very important question….

Do you not have  enough to do in Kansas?  Seriously….what’s up with bills like this?  I can tell you that my road looks like crap outside my apartment and I pass strip mall after strip mall sitting empty.  How’s that recruiting of new business to Kansas thing going?

Please stop wasting taxpayer money and time with bills like this.

Vote no on HB 2620.

Thank you,

Aimee

 

One thought on “KS HB2620 asks for KS kids to be bullied.

  1. Brian Jones says:

    Welcome to the Republican Party Aimee.
    :o)

Leave a Reply

