Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear Kansas Representatives,

I need to point out that bloggers and comedians across the country are outraged!  Paul Davis-D from Kansas has suggested closing the legislative session in Kansas 20 days early.  Estimates are it could save the state $1.3 million dollars by closing up shop early.  What’s a little money when we are having so much fun I ask?

Bloggers like myself are outraged at the very idea that they would shut down this crazy-train early.  The Kansas legislature is the mother ship where I get my best material.  Lately it’s coming fast and furious almost on a daily basis.

Think about it. So far this year we’ve debated:

1. The No Shirt, No Shoes, No Gays bill

2. The spankings are A-OK bill.

3.  The just say no to sex-ed in schools bill

4.  The it’s your fault we’re divorcing you bastard bill

5. The federal government you can take your gun laws and shove it bill

I have admittedly taken some liberty with the names of these bills, but I beg you Kansas lawmakers, don’t shut down early.  This is by far the BEST entertainment I’ve had in a long, long time.  Once you shut up shop and go home what am I left with?

I’ve already watched Season 2 of House of Cards.  What would I do without the always entertaining twitter feed of #KSLEG?  Please Kansas legislature, stay in session until the bitter end. Don’t force me to focus my efforts on productive things like volunteer work and participating in my kid’s PTA.  Keep the circus in session.  I, like so many, have been highly entertained.

Yours in circus-like government,

Aimee

Leave a Reply

