Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Bowe knows a lot of things.

Bowe knows why he walked away from the army in 2009.

Bowe knows what’s been going on for the past five years as a prisoner or a guest of the Taliban.

Here’s what we know.

We really don’t know Bowe.

We are all frantically trying to put the pieces of this brokered deal together for the exchange of Bowe Bergdahl.   We are all playing armchair military strategist right now and foreign affairs expert.  We are taking our years of expertise playing games like Risk and Battleship to good use to determine if what President Obama did was right or wrong.

You all know I am a big Obama supporter, but even when I watched the press conference with Obama and Bowe’s parents, I started praying, “Please God tell me they vetted this situation appropriately.  Don’t let this be another Benghazi.  Please tell me that the Father’s beard is just really fashionable and I’m just not up on the latest in facial hair. Something just doesn’t seem right about this whole thing. Please tell me this isn’t going to be a disaster that I feel it’s going to be.”

Then the tweet came out from Bowe’s father:  “I am still working to free all Guantanamo prisoners,” the tweet said, according to various screen grabs. The tweet was subsequently deleted. “God will repay for the death of every Afghan child, ameen.” http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2014/06/02/the-curious-case-of-bob-bergdahls-apparent-tweet-to-the-taliban/

Oh hell.  Something as simple as a past tweet and it is all starting to unravel.

Let’s clear something up before all of you anti-Obama peeps start firing up your “I told you so” responses.  See I’m good with him trading prisoners at Gitmo for our prisoners of war.  If memory serves, America elected Obama on a platform of CLOSING Gitmo.  It was a long, long time ago, but that was one of his promises.  I remember it clearly  In fact, it is one of things that I am most disappointed by from the Obama presidency.  See I”m comfortable enough in my own party to talk openly about disappointments in my own party.  You should try it sometime. It’s very liberating.

So we traded prisoners?  Both Republican and Democrats have done it in the past.  Israel does it all the time.  If we can trade Gitmo prisoners for our prisoners of war, I’m totally fine with that.

What is a big deal is what were the circumstances of Bowe’s leaving his troop that night.  Tired of the army?  Sick of the mission?  No good reasons to walk away.  Show me a soldier who isn’t at some point.  Was he taken by the Taliban?  Was he held against his will?  Was he really a prisoner or just hanging out for the past five years?

The government has to know more than what they are telling us. They had to know we would find the stuff we found on the internet.  It wasn’t that hard.  It was all out there, easy for the taking.  They had to know there would be that type of backlash.  There must have been reasonable justification to endure this kind of bad press.  Please tell me this kid was really a prisoner and we really stand by our mantra about not leaving behind an American soldier?

If it isn’t true and this kid walked away to join up with terrorists and the Republicans can ever get their act together and find a reasonable candidate, they will have a disastrous foreign policy record to tee off on.  Please tell me that Obama’s team isn’t this stupid.  They just can’t be.  Please tell me there will be some more compelling facts that will be coming out that will have America sighing with relief that it was all done for a good cause.  Please Obama don’t leave me hanging.  I should say don’t leave Hillary hanging.

From where I sit, only Bowe knows and he has some explaining to do.

(extra points to those of you who know the KC reference to “Bo Knows”)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Only Bowe knows

  1. lindiana55 says:

    I was SO hopeful that dad was just another Duck Dynasty fan.

  2. bobarmi says:

    I feel you Aimee, (as much as it pains me to say it). When I first heard of Bergdahl’s exchange I was very happy that we were able to bring a POW home. Now that I have seen the details of the exchange I am less jovial. First off these guys we released from Gitmo are top line/inner circle Taliban bad guys. The likelihood that they will “return to the battle field” is 100%. There are over 140 prisoner’s Gitmo, why these are these five? It’s a no brainer that they will seek every opportunity to attack Americans. I know very well all is not what we are being told it is, but we just gave away a full house to pick up a single jack. This just doesn’t pass the smell test. Ergo it is a part of a larger puzzle to which we have no picture of, or we again are being distracted by a new “shinny” from one of the many scandals that is getting too close to putting nails in the Obama Administration coffin.

    1. Yes his foreign policy kind of sucks. I totally admit it. But here’s the deal, we were closing Gitmo anyway. How does that all work exactly? Where do the prisoners go when that happens? Do we just open the gates and let them go? Do we dump them on a country that we hate? Here you go Cuba. I just can’t believe that this situation wasn’t vetted better than I vet most of my dates. What the heck is going on in the White House? Maybe I really am becoming a Republican….sigh. Thanks for commenting Bob. It’s always entertaining.
      Cheers,
      Aimee

Leave a Reply

