Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Yesterday the teaser came over twitter: “Exciting news coming from @brownbackforgov tomorrow! Sign up here to be the first to know.”

What could it be?  I signed up.  I had to be first to know.  I was  giddy with anticipation.  I barely slept a wink last night thinking of all the things this news could be about.

So what in the world could be so exciting?

Was he repealing his tax cuts?

Had he finally seen the light that his “great experiment” didn’t work.

Was he going to finally promise to do right by Kansas public schools and our teachers?

I waited all day…..

And then the news finally broke mid-afternoon.

“Former Third District Congresswoman Jan Meyers endorses Republican Sam Brownback for Governor!”

http://brownback.com/former-third-district-congresswoman-jan-meyers-endorses-republican-sam-brownback-governor/

“I wanted to set the record straight on the recent announcements that some Republicans including me are not supporting Governor Brownback’s re-election,” Meyers said. “For my part, nothing could be further from the truth. I do support Sam Brownback for another term as Governor.”

(Insert slow clap)

Let me get this straight – a Congresswoman who last served 17 years ago came out in favor of Brownback and this is “exciting news”.  Now calm down Brownback supporters.  I get that it was originally reported that she supported Paul Davis.  I get that she is a moderate and Brownback is far from it.  Paul Davis recently came out saying that he had 100 Republicans supporting him.

http://online.wsj.com/articles/some-in-kansas-gop-break-with-gov-brownback-endorse-democratic-opponent-1405441534

Let’s do the math on this one shall we.  Even if Paul Davis goofed on Jan Meyers, that’s still 99 REPUBLICANS supporting a Democratic candidate.

The “exciting news” today is that one REPUBLICAN is supporting Brownback.

News flash – Brownback is a Republican.

Excuse me if I don’t jump up and down over this one.

In fact, here is my top 10 list of more exciting things that happened to me today other than hearing Brownback’s news.

10.  My lazy cat rolled over.9.  I found a penny in the parking lot.8.  My vending machine bag of potato chips was more than half full.7.  I successfully changed my ringtone to Baby Got Back.6.  I’m having a great hair day.5.  I didn’t come to a complete stop on the highway this morning in rush hour traffic.4.  I finished level 56 of Candy Crush.3.  I’m caught up on all episodes of this season of the Real Housewives of New Jersey2.  A bottle of Coke had my name on it.1.  I wrote this blog

Governor Brownback – if this is as exciting as your campaign gets – you’ve got a lot of work to do.

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Things More Exciting Than Brownback’s News Today

  1. My cat spent some rare lap time … and I sincerely hope you get rid of that asshole come election time.

  2. Bob Sailler says:

    Congratulations to Governor Brownback for picking up the endorsement of Republican Jan Meyers! Plus, famous Kansan Rick Santorum endorsed the governor! Momentum is building!

Leave a Reply

