Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear Mr. Davis,

I was shocked and appalled when I received a copy of a press release over the weekend from Clay Barker, head of the KS Republican Party that read:chippendales

Dem governor candidate caught at strip club drug raid in 1998, 

takes no responsibility for irresponsible behavior

Mr. Davis!  A strip club drug raid?  Well I never!

Sixteen years ago you went to a strip club with your boss and had a private dance in the backroom.  During the dance, the police raided the club looking for meth that was allegedly being sold out of the club.  You were not involved in the drug investigation and were released, however Barker points out,

“Davis’ behavior – whatever he was doing to or with that woman in the ‘VIP room’ while his client was dealing meth in the bar – demonstrates  a total lack of judgment and is the kind of behavior that Kansans will find totally unacceptable in someone who wants to be governor,” said Clay Barker, executive director of the Kansas Republican Party.

I completely agree with Mr. Barker – this is UNACCEPTABLE!  Anyone who has ever gone to a strip club shows total lack of judgment and poor character.  Think about how you objectified those poor women.  I think the mere fact that you went to a strip club 16 years ago while you were single and had a lap dance means you are totally unqualified to run the state of Kansas.  That’s it – lets pull a Taylor and call this whole thing off.

Now in full disclosure, I must admit that I’ve been to a Chippendales Review a time or two.  Of course, as a woman, this is COMPLETELY different.  For one thing, its men performing not women.  Everyone knows you can’t objectify men.  Second, I went for research purposes ONLY.  I’ll admit, I was lacking in knowledge about different professions like policeman, fireman and construction worker.  After going to the Chippendales Review, I was able to learn all about firemen and what they can do with their hoses.  For one, their hoses are long and sometimes they have to drag them around with both hands.  It looked exhausting with all that sweat pouring off of them.  Then there are policemen and their night sticks.  Don’t even get me started on the handcuffs.  Last, but not least, the construction workers and their big tools. Is it getting hot in here?  Oh my….I’m getting all flustered.

Now where was I?  Oh yes!  Totally unacceptable behavior.  Mr. Barker must have read the same study that I did from BS University that found that a trip to a strip club means that you are unable to do things like manage state budgets, fund schools appropriately and bring new jobs to Kansas. 

Mr. Davis, while you consider withdrawing your name from the Governor’s race, I will continue to do my Chippendale’s research online.  I am POSITIVE there is more I need to learn about firemen.

Yours for better judgment,

Aimee

This post is dedicated to Tony’s Kansas City – for all the reasons you would expect.

10 thoughts on “My Open Letter to Paul Davis on strippergate ’98

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Thanks Randy! Aside from a few typos and an ear infection….
      It’s been that kind of a day.
      Cheers – Aimee

    2. Liz Craig says:

      Their digging up something from 16 years ago speaks to their desperation. Thanks for your good post, Aimee.

  1. Ernest Evans says:

    Dear Ms. Aimee: If Sam Brownback had visited a strip club would you give him a “pass”? If a white, male, pro-life Republican had gotten a man who raped an 11 year old girl off with a minor sentence by putting the victim on trial would you have given him a “pass” the way that most Democrats gave Hillary Clinton a “pass” when she did precisely this? Time for all of us citizens to hold our leaders to common standards: Visiting strip clubs is wrong because it involves making money off people degrading themselves out of their desperation for funds, and it is wrong to make an 11-year old rape victim the person on trial in a rape case. And, frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn what party the people who do such things belong to–they still deserve to be condemned for what they do. Take care and God bless. Sincerely, Respectfully and In Christ, Ernest Evans

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Dr. Evans, I respect that you feel very passionately about this matter. I would feel the same way about this if it were a Republican. On this we can agree to disagree. Thanks for commenting. All my best, Aimee

  2. ERnest Evans says:

    Dearest Ms. Aimee: Thank you for your note!! Yes, I do feel passionately about these sorts of issues. If you say that you would feel the same way if it were a Republican I accept your word on the matter because I know you to be a person of great integrity. I guess, frankly, that I am not really all that angry at Paul Davis–it was Hillary getting a pass for what she did that really upsets me and the Paul Davis scandal just reminded me ot it. Mind you, I voted for her husband in 1992 and 1996, and she clearly has the smarts and the experience to possibly be a good President. But I was appalled when I heard her discussing this case in a radio interview shortly after the trial–she showed little or no empathy with the horribly victimized young girl. I have spent my whole life fighting to protect innocent people against violence–and people who show little or no concern for the victims of violence absolutely drive me up the wall. Take care and God bless!! Sincerely, Respectfully and In Christ, Ernest Evans (Your No. 1 Fan!!)

  3. Jayhiker says:

    if I may be so bold as to reply to Ernest Evans: No, it would not be the same if Pastor Sam was caught in a strip joint getting a lap dance (pause– voiding the image) because unlike the young subordinate Mr Davis of 16 freaking years ago, Sam has passed himself off as Holier Than Thou and railed about such sinnin’ as a sign of a Devil, second only to giving people health care. So it would be a case of the Hypocrites, which can so itch, whereas if Mr Davis had refused to go to the client’s bar with his boss, he probably would have had a case of the Unemployments. As for Ms Clinton and the child rapist — she was his defense attorney. That was her job. Its called due process in America, and you will be glad to have it should you be ever accused of anything.

    As for you Ms Aimee, I am feeling completely objectified. But if you stuff a C bill down my pants, I will let it go this time.

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Hey Jayhiker – thanks for your comment. I was thinking about adding an additional comment to Dr. Evans pointing out some of the same things you added here. I think there is a big difference when Republicans are caught and that is for the same reasons you pointed out – it’s when they are caught in the same situations and they are the ones that are calling out others on family values. That stuff drives me crazy. However, if it was a moderate Republican caught in this same situation I would feel the same way I do about Mr. Davis.

      Thanks for commenting! Aimee

  4. ernest evans says:

    Hi There Mr. Jaykhiker!! Most thoughtful comments on my posting!! First, whether Paul Davis sees anything wrong with strip clubs is irrelevant to what he did–such clubs are still wrong. They are part of a huge international sex industry that exploits untold thousands of young people. Mr. Davis may sincerely believe there is nothing wrong with going to such a club–well, I have news for Mr. Davis: I have been doing prison ministry for 21 years, and I have met lots of child molesters who believe that there is noting wrong with abusing children. Just because he thinks that there is nothing wrong with what he is doing does not make it right. I realize that I am “imposing values on him”–and I plead guilty!! Having met a lot of neo-Nazis over the years of my work on extremist movements I know lots of people who think Jews and blacks are not human–and I am firmly in favor of imposing moral values on such people. All law represents the imposing of someone’s moral values on others. Second, as far as Hillary goes, it may be that under the definition of the duties of being someone’s attorney you can defend her by saying she was doing her job in getting her client off with a light sentence. But while there may have been nothing illegal about what she did, it was still unethical to make the young girl the focus of the trial. I don’t buy the argument that an attorney has the moral right to do anything to get his/her client off the hook: If I did, I would have to have no moral objection to the way that the murderers of Emmitt Till got off the hook in their 1955 trial: The two men’s attorney ignored all of the evidence implicating their clients and instead made the trial about the evils of race mixing. If I were charged with murdering a young black man and I were innocent I would definitely insist on getting due process–but I like to think that I would not allow my attorney to get me off by exploiting racist feelings among the jury. Take care and God bless!! Sincerely and Respectfully, Ernest Evans

  5. Liz Craig says:

    I’m in an endless loop of logging into my WordPress site and trying to reply to your good blog post. Anyway, good post!

Leave a Reply

