Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Obama coffee salute

If you felt the world stop spinning yesterday for a moment, you were correct. Conservatives in this country had their American flag panties in a wad yesterday over a national scandal.  Was it Hillary announcing her candidacy for President?  Nope.  Was it that the government finally came for everyone’s guns?  Not even close.  What had Conservatives in an absolute freak out was Coffeegate 2014.  President Obama stepped out of his helicopter yesterday after it landed.  His hands were full, with coffee in one hand and a coat in the other.

 

He saluted the Marines with the coffee hand, and that led to the epic Conservative freakouts.  There were hundreds of angry comments on posts I read on Facebook.  In my head they all had the same voice as the woman who started the Sir-Mix-A-Lot, Baby Got Back song from the 1990s.
 
I’ll sum them all up like this,

 

Oh, my, god, Becky, look at his salute
It is so wrong, ugh, he looks like one of those disrespecting liberals
But, ugh, ya know, who understands those liberals? Ugh
They only let him get away with it because he’s the President, okay?
I mean, his salute, is just so full of Starbuck’s, ugh, I can’t believe it’s just so wrong
It’s like, wrong, I mean, ugh, gross!

 

Now listen up my Conservative pals, because we are going to take a little walk down memory lane.  It just so turns out that President Bush also had a Salutegate (yes, I’m that annoying person that enjoys putting the word “gate” at the end of every faux and real scandal – you’re welcome). Now, I’m getting older and my memory isn’t great, but I don’t recall a huge issue when Doggiegate happened then.  I don’t recall those same patriots crying foul when Bush’s dog got in the way of honoring our soldiers.  I know for a fact that I didn’t criticize Bush when he did it then, and I’m not criticizing Obama when he did it now.

 

Bush dog salute
Why?

 

Here’s the deal as we continue our history lesson – the salute is a nice thing to do, but it isn’t required of a President.  In fact, the tradition only goes back to Ronald Reagean.  So it’s not like it’s solidified in American tradition going all the way back to the founding fathers.  Now would it have been nice if Obama’s hands were free to salute appropriately?  Sure.  Should he be impeached over it?  No!  Give it a rest people.  It’s not a national scandal.  It’s not even a national blip on the radar.  It’s a non-issue.

 

Now I have no doubt, and I mean NO DOUBT, that if President Obama would have handed his coat and coffee to his wife or a staffer so he could have saluted the Marines appropriately, the same conservatives would have been bitching about today is that the President is too important to hold his own coat and coffee.  He’s just an elitist liberal too detached from the mainstream to hold his own coat and coffee.  The guy can’t win.  I seem to remember an incident not too long ago where the President had a Marine hold his umbrella and that was also a huge issue.

 

Same voice in my head from Sir-Mix-A-Lot…

 
Oh, my, god, Becky, look at his umbrella….

 

Obama Umbrella
6 thoughts on “Oh my god Becky…Obama, look at his salute.

  1. Ernest Evans says:

    Dear Ms. Aimee: You are quite right!! This is a dumb issue on which to attack the President. Obama’s opponents are so obsessed with him that they have lost all sense of perspective. If tomorrow Obama walked across the Potomac River the lead story on FOX News would be “Obama Cannot Swim.” Take care and God bless!! Sincerely and Respectfully, Ernest Evans PS: Are you Jewish? If so: L’Shana Tova!!

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Hi Dr. Evans – yes I am Jewish. Thank you very much! God bless you as well. All my best, Aimee

  2. Coco Johnston says:

    Good to hear someone else complain about the absurdity of making this a major news story. Two days running, and it’s still popping up on the news. I am sure there are more important stories that need more attention than this one tiny, insignificant event. Thanks for bringing attention to the media’s over-emphasis on fluff.

  3. David Murphy says:

    Hi Aimee, (I’m Bill’s friend)
    Thought you’d enjoy this as a counter to your Semper Latte piece.

    http://www.usnews.com/opinion/blogs/peter-roff/2014/09/27/obamas-latte-salute-insults-the-military-blame-bush

    Cheers,
    David Murphy

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Hi David,

      Thanks for the article and sorry for the late response. Things have been crazy busy! I read the link and, of course, I disagree with almost everything this article says. Let’s not forget that it was Bush who flew that plane in with the “Mission Accomplished” banner flying high when the we all know that the mission was far from accomplished. To me there is nothing more disrespectful than doing a victory dance when the victory is far from over and the lives of our service members were still at risk all for the sake of a political stunt. I think America always puts ex-Presidents in a more favorable light than a current President and we will have to wait and see how things play out for Obama. I think that is the ONLY reason that anyone has anything nice to say about Bush 2.

      Thanks again for reading and commenting. I always appreciate it!
      All my best,
      Aimee

      1. David Murphy says:

        Aimee,
        Really now, the whole Blame W thing is actually embarrassing. That was so many years ago now. How did Mission Accomplished come up? From your stock drawer I guess. Here’s a little advice for you.. go read W’s book Decision Points.. and seek out the section where he touches on this. He admits it was a huge mistake. The whole W hugging Barney and saluting thing was a hilarious overreaction by the Lefties like yourself! As if anyone.. and I mean ANYONE would question W’s appreciation and respect for anything US military!

        It’s a good book actually!

        Cheers,
        David

Leave a Reply

