Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear Phyllis Schlafly,Obama

 

First, let me just say it’s been years since I last reached out to you.  We met once in the early 90s.    You came to William Jewell College in Liberty, MO, to debate Sarah Weddington during the anniversary of Roe vs. Wade.  I was a young student at William Jewell College.  You were right at home on William Jewell’s Southern Baptist campus.  You might remember me as one of maybe 3 other pro-choice supporters that night versus the hundred or so pro-lifers.   I was the one wearing a bright “my body, my choice” t-shirt.  I kind of stood out – I know it’s shocking.  To be honest I’m a little surprised you are still alive and kicking.  If memory serves, you weren’t a spring chicken back then.  Of course, I mean that in the best way possible.

Now, not only are you alive, but you killing it with some great quotes on Ebola and Obama.  I recently read your take on Obama’s responsibility for the Ebola outbreak in the United States –

 

“There are all kinds of diseases in the rest of the world, and we don’t want them in this country,” Schlafly said. “And it’s Obama’s job to keep them out.

“Out of all the things he’s done, I think this thing of letting these diseased people into this country to infect our own people is just the most outrageous of all.”

Schlafly said the government should screen immigrants for disease before they enter the country, as was done at Ellis Island a hundred years ago.

“That was the purpose of Ellis Island – to have a waiting place where it was decided whether people were healthy enough or responsible enough to come into our country,” she said. “The idea that anybody can just walk in and carry this disease with them is just an outrage, and it is Obama’s fault because he’s responsible for doing it.”

When asked why the current administration hasn’t done more to prevent diseased illegal aliens or Ebola carriers from Africa from entering the country, Schlafly said Obama wants to make the U.S. more like the rest of the world.

“Obama doesn’t want America to believe that we’re exceptional,” Schlafly said. “He wants us to be just like everybody else, and if Africa is suffering from Ebola, we ought to join the group and be suffering from it, too. That’s his attitude.”

– See more at: http://www.rightwingwatch.org/content/phyllis-schlafly-obama-intentionally-bringing-ebola-make-america-more-africa#sthash.ZC0Qx5Qd.dpuf

I couldn’t agree with you more.  It’s Obama’s JOB to keep them out!  Just the other day, my daughter had a cough and I thought to myself, “Damn Obama.  If he wouldn’t have let those “diseased people” in my daughter wouldn’t have this cold. She also may need glasses and the only thing I can think of is again – it’s Obama’s fault.  If he wouldn’t have let “those people” in she could see better.
By the way, great thought with the Ellis Island idea.  I mean the United States was basically disease-free in the early 1900s and I think we have the screening process at Ellis Island to credit.  There was that little influenza pandemic that hit in 1918, but that was barely scratched the surface of our overall population:
“No one knows exactly how many people died during the 1918-1919 influenza pandemic. During the 1920s, researchers estimated that 21.5 million people died as a result of the 1918-1919 pandemic. More recent estimates have estimated global mortality from the 1918-1919 pandemic at anywhere between 30 and 50 million. An estimated 675,000 Americans were among the dead.”
675,000 Americans dead.  It’s nothing like the Ebola outbreak of today that has a whole one person dead in the United States.
I also can’t agree with you more that Obama must lose sleep night after night thinking about all the ways he can prevent American from being exceptional.  No wonder he is graying so fast.  I’m sure next up is doing away with electricity and indoor plumbing so we can more third world-like.  He’s probably planing the press conference to announce that as we speak.  Charge up your phone and boil some water, because it’s all going to be outhouses and candle light soon.
Anyway, so glad we stayed in touch.  It’s great to see that your mind has stayed sharp with age.
All my best for blaming Obama for just about everything,
Aimee
2 thoughts on “Sigh….Phyllis Schlafly blames Obama for Ebola Outbreak

  1. dcarmack says:

    I thought she died, too. Maybe she did and the right wing is just putting words in her dead mouth.

  2. Aimee Patton says:

    She was super old back when I was in college and that was in early 90s! You have to give those conservatives credit – they keep on ticking! Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

