Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Aimee and DarlaThis is the story about two people and something that is almost unheard of these days.  This is the story about a politically opposite friendship-one conservative and one liberal who don’t agree on anything, but still manage to have an amazing friendship.

Our friendship start years ago when Obama was elected to his second term.  I was writing for the KC Star and I met Darla on election night when KMBZ was doing a live feed at a local restaurant.  Darla Jaye is a talk radio host in Kansas City on KMBZ 98.1 FM and I was a long time listener.  She sat down next to me and told me that she was a fan of my columns.

“You are a fan of MY columns?” I asked stunned.

How could a right leaning radio talk show host like my writing?  Maybe she wasn’t reading them right?  Does she understand that I’m a snarky, liberal blogger?  Sure enough she said she didn’t agree with my columns, but they made her laugh.  That struck up a great conversation that night about politics, our love of Barbra Streisand and all things Broadway.  I had been a long time listener and even called in to her show.  I couldn’t believe I was having such a fun time talking to this person who I didn’t agree with politically, but had so much in common with personally.  Almost all of my friends to that point were liberal so it was unusual that I was having such a great time with someone who I didn’t agree with politically.

From there we met for dinner and an amazing friendship started.

We talk about politics and current events a lot – when we are on the air and when we are off the air.   What you hear on the air is the same thing you would hear off the air if you were sitting with us at dinner.  We traveled together to Ireland a few years ago and had a great time touring a beautiful country and over there we argued about social issues impacting America, the economy and President Obama.  The only difference was we were surrounded by the beautiful Irish countryside and drank Irish beer.

Last weekend we went out with friends and guess what?  We argued about the Ebola crisis and how Obama was handling it-all while enjoying spinach and artichoke dip and cocktails.  It got heated and if you asked either of us which one was right we would both say, “me!”  After we left dinner we hugged, said goodbye and thought nothing of the argument.  Why?  Because we are friends.  She isn’t a terrible person, I am not a terrible person.  We just don’t agree on politics.

When Obama won re-election I gave her shit and when the GOP won the Midterms she got to give me shit.  Neither one of us gets our feelings hurt, because in politics we both know that I will win some and she will win some.  That’s how it works.  I respect her right to gloat and she respects my right to gloat.

Why am I sharing this with you?  Because I feel that America needs more friendships like this.  Politics are so polarizing right now.  It seems that you don’t just disagree with someone politically, but people have to HATE each other for it.  Political discussions turn into a verbal bloodbath with take-no-prisoner attitudes that end only when the other person is found weeping in the fetal position begging for mercy.

It doesn’t have to be that way. We are an example of that.

We both laugh when people react to us being friends.  She hears about it all the time that people can’t believe she is friends with “that liberal.”  People are shocked that I’m friends with a conservative.  When you both have a love for politics it’s really easy.

Listen to her show and catch me when I’m on: http://www.kmbz.com/

We have a great time debating all the issues and in the end she knows…..I’m always right 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “The story of an uncommon friendship between a conservative and a liberal

  1. Brian Jones says:

    Aimee, you are right.
    It is true that you can hate liberalism as I do.
    But you don’t hate the liberal.
    I remember sending a text to Darla that you and I opposing sides of the political road, that doesn’t mean that I don’t respect you.
    I love your column.
    You are a very talented woman.
    And I hope, like with Darla, you and I can be friends as well.

  2. sallybr says:

    I am guilty of having a hard time talking politics with someone who is not a liberal. A few of my friends are conservatives and we more or less silently agree on never talking about politics. Your article obviously hits home, and I need to change my ways. It won’t be easy, but I will definitely try

    great post!

    1. Brian Jones says:

      That makes two of us.

  3. Darla Jaye says:

    I have had more fun and energetic and entertaining conversations with Aimee, then with people that I “agree” with! She is a great friend, a wonderful woman and hilarious! My life is better with this Liberal in it! I might still disagree but I do listen.

    1. Darla Jaye says:

      P.S. I’m actually the one who is always right. Don’t tell Aimee!

  4. Steve says:

    Welcome aboard the diversity train Aimee. I was once young, foolish, and liberal but eventually came to my senses. I now know how a reformed alcoholic feels around drunks; understanding their weakness and hoping that they hit rock bottom for real change. Not that there is anything wrong with drunks….

    Nice article!

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Hi Steve,

      Thanks for calling me young! That makes me feel good. I appreciate you reading and commenting.

      Aimee

  5. Ernest Evans says:

    Dear Ms. Aimee: Great posting!! I am a registered Democrat, but I have a lot of Republican friends!! This past election night I went to both of the party’s Headquarters here in Leavenworth to console the losers and congratulate the winners. I take political issues very, very seriously–but I don’t take them personally–so I can have friends who disagree with my politics. Take care and God bless!! Sincerely and Respectfully, Ernest Evans

Leave a Reply

