Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Tonight I went for my monthly massage and the masseuse asked me, “Aimee, what’s causing you pain?”

“Brownback. He’s causing me pain and in fact, my pain is located right here,” as I pointed to my buttocks region.

Why is Brownback a pain in my ass this week? Because he rolled out his first round of budget cuts to help with the $280 MILLION dollar budget gap from his failed tax policies.

Actually to be more precise, his Budget Director Shawn Sullivan or S2 as I like to call him rolled out the budget cuts. I just have to say, the only job worse than the Budget Director of Kansas right now would be rectal feeder for the CIA. It’s got to be a job NOBODY wants.

I can imagine the talk before the roll out of the budget cuts between S2 and Brownback.

Screen_Shot_2014-12-09_at_10.53.30_AM_t290

“You want ME to send out the email announcing the cuts? I don’t know if that’s a good idea Sir. I think it would be better coming from you,” said S2.

“Oh no Shawn. I think it’s much better coming from you instead of me. Trust me, I’ll support you in all of your recommendations, ” said Brownback.

Sure enough here’s the quote from Brownback on S2’s recommendations,

“I appreciate Shawn’s hard work in identifying efficiencies and cost savings across state government,” Brownback said. “These first steps are a down payment in resolving the immediate budget issue. I look forward to presenting a full budget proposal and policy recommendations to the Legislature in January. Our job now is to address this situation through good fiscal governance while maintaining our investment in education, sustaining funding for public safety and allowing T-WORKS to be completed.”  http://www.khi.org/news/2014/dec/09/brownback-moves-close-budget-gap-unliateral-cuts/

He looks forward to presenting a full budget proposal?  Cough..cough..bullshit…cough…cough.  Excuse me.  I got a tickle in my throat.

The announcement was so bad….

Aimee, how bad was it?

It was so bad that Senate President Susan, I’m also a Republican, Wagle made the understatement of the year by saying it put the Legislature in a “difficult position.”

Ouch, but kudos sister for calling it like you see it.

“I would have preferred to see the burden spread evenly throughout the state. That would certainly be a more fair approach than picking winners or losers and asking the Legislature to fill the gap,” Wagle said.

http://m.cjonline.com/news/2014-12-09/brownback-cut-state-agency-spending-4-percent-response-revenue-shortfall#gsc.tab=0

Some of these budget cuts have to be approved by the Legislature and that puts them between a rock and a hard place knowing that Brownback needs these budget cuts in order to balance the budget.

And this, ladies and gentlemen, is the 1st episode in the mini-series….Broke Kansas.

9 thoughts on “My 1st Episode of Broke Kansas

  1. Joel Waldman says:

    Very good😊 please change my email address

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Thanks Dad! I’m sorry, but I don’t control email addresses. Please subscribe again using your new email address. That should correct the problem. Love, your #1 daughter (and only daughter) Aimee

  2. Deborah Bailey says:

    Poor Brownback had to rely on S2 to break the news. After all, that pain in the rear thought the budget was just fine until the day after the election.

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Can you imagine being S2? I would HATE to have that job! Thanks for reading and commenting! Have a nice weekend – Aimee

  3. Sheldon says:

    Years ago, I worked in the Maryland Dept of Health. Gov. William Donald Schaefer’s policy was “I’ll deliver all good news. Bad news will be delivered by department heads.”

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Hi Sheldon,

      Looks like that holds true in Kansas!
      Aimee

  4. LOVE LOVE LOVE this blog post!

  5. Finn Bullers says:

    Keep it up. BBack deserves all the free media exposure he can get. He is eeking by on the narrowest margins of political confidence in recent memory.. He may just need enough rope to hang his own failed trickle-down theories.

  6. themadkansan says:

    grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr…

    *grabs ax, goes out back to shed*

    *grinding noises and grumbling commence*

Leave a Reply

