Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

In case you missed it, President Obama is taking some heat for not joining world leaders in France as they marched against terrorism last Sunday after the brutal terrorist attacks that left their country in shock.

Reports say that more than 3 million people marched in the streets of Paris to defy terrorism.  World leaders from countries such as Germany, Holland and Spain came together in a show of solidarity with France to send a message to terrorists that the world stands together against terrorism.

President Obama and other United States leaders were not present for the march.  Like the saying goes, hindsight is 20/20 and now they say they made a mistake by not attending the march.

Before admitting the mistake, Congressman Weber-R, TX came out against the President’s decision not to attend the march posting this tweet, “Even Adolph [sic] Hitler thought it more important than Obama to get to Paris. (For all the wrong reasons.) Obama couldn’t do it for right reasons,”

Read more: http://www.politico.com/story/2015/01/randy-weber-barack-obama-hitler-tweet-114221.html#ixzz3Ok0OIvfw

Yep, Weber went there. 

After backlash from this tweet,  Representative Weber apologized for his remarks.

“I need to first apologize to all those offended by my tweet,” Weber said. “It was not my intention to trivialize the Holocaust nor to compare the president to Adolf Hitler. The mention of Hitler was meant to represent the face of evil that still exists in the world today.”

Thanks for the apology Rep. Weber, because I was one of those offended by your tweet, but I’m going to stop you right there. I take issue with the word “intention”.  I think it was your intention to compare the president to Hitler.

Let’s break this down with this following example.  

I will call you a butthead, but I won’t do it directly.  Watch this. My neighbor is a butthead and Rep. Weber you act a lot like my neighbor.

See I just called you a butthead without directly calling you a butthead.  Now I feel like that wasn’t right, so I will apologize for that by saying, “Representative Weber, I apologize for calling you a butthead.  It was never my intention to call you a butthead.”  (But you and I both know that it was totally my intention to call you a butthead.)

See an authentic apology would be for me to say, “Representative Weber, I should have never called you a butthead. I apologize.”  

It’s as simple as that.   

I think it was your intention to compare Obama to Hitler or you wouldn’t have tweeted that out.   You wrote the words.  I’m also just not buying your excuse that the mention of Hitler was to represent the face of evil that still exists in the world today.  The only person or thing Hitler represents is Hitler.  You knew that mentioning Hitler would get people’s attention and it worked.

Anyway, I apologize again for calling you a butthead, but thanks for helping me make my point. Now how about if you try that apology one more time?

Yours for sincere apologies,

Aimee

5 thoughts on “Rep. Weber you are a butthead, but it’s not my intention to call you a butthead.

  1. Mark my words, like the “you lie!” idiot, Weber will use this to fundraise. Sociopath asshole.

  2. Greg says:

    Haha!! Great side stepping!! Funny how the Obama supporters have to change the subject and blame someone else so often!!
    Obama says Americans are arrogant!! and he is a Great example of that!!
    It was a very sad day that our government didnt participate in the march in Paris!! And show unity against the radical muslms!!

    Ok – Weber should not have compared Obama to Hitler !! But that does not change the fact that Obama has dropped the ball again and again!!

  3. John Heim says:

    Aimee- I love your column! You have a unique sense of humor that you use well to point out the absurdities of extreme right-wing politics. Keep fighting the good fight! -John Heim

    >

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Thank you John! I appreciate your comment! Aimee

  4. ERnest Evans says:

    Dear Ms. Aimee: Good posting!! I do feel that Obama should have sent someone like Biden to Paris to represent the US in the march, but I am not sure that he should have gone himself. Obama, as the conservatives hate to remember, is “the man who shot Osama Bin Laden.” As such, he is an object of particular hatred for groups like Al Qaeda and ISIS–they would be willing to run risks to assassinate him that they would not be willing to run to kill the chancellor of Germany or the prime minister of the UK. So, security for him is a quite difficult proposition. As for Cong. Weber, I long for the day when people on both sides of the spectrum stop comparing anyone they dislike to Hitler–one of the most supremely evil human beings in history. Take care and God bless!! Sincerely and Respectfully, Ernest Evans

Leave a Reply

