Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

In Kansas, it’s commonplace for bills that fail to come up year after year when a lawmaker wants to be a pain in the ass.  That seems to be the case with the parental consent for teaching sex-ed bill.  In this 2015 bill, parents would be given the sex ed curriculum and would have to opt-in for their children to be part of the class.  Here is my favorite quote from the article explaining the bill,

“If there’s no opt in, we have no idea what’s being given to our captive, submissive children who are told to listen to their teacher,” Schmidt said.

Captive and submissive?  Sounds more like an S&M fantasy than a description of our children attending school.  Somebody has been watching 50 Shades of Grey.  My child is a lot of things, but captive and submissive aren’t words I would use to describe her.  Geez….and people say I’m dramatic.

Here’s the other thing to consider in this bill – what happens if both parents don’t agree?  What if one says opt in and the other says opt out?  What then? I know that KS lawmakers believe that all KS families are like June and Ward Cleaver, where it would be Ward ultimately making the decision as he gives June a sweet kiss on the forehead and tells her not to worry her pretty little head about these things, but in reality some parents might not agree on what’s right for little Beaver.

What happens then?

Anyway, here is the blog I wrote last year about this very same issue.  No reason to recreate the wheel so here you go!

(Note – I just changed parties to Republican when I wrote this post)

 

Dear Kansas Republicans,

Now that I’m a Republican, I feel like I have to reach out to you about something that concerns me.  I found out that there is a new bill up for debate – HB 2620.  What is HB 2620?  It’s an opt-in sex education bill for our Kansas schools or as I like to call it the “put your fingers in your ears, yell LA LA LA and pretend our kids aren’t having sex” bill.

The bill establishes a mandatory opt-in program for sex education. It prohibits the display or distribution of instructional materials on health and human sexuality to any student whose parents didn’t opt-in.

Now I was a kid once and nothing says bullying from other kids like having to sit out sex education class, because mommy and daddy  won’t let you participate.  What are you going to do with the kids who opt out?  Line them up in the hallway while everyone else learns about the birds and the bees?  I thought Kansas was an anti-bullying state.  Bills like this ASK for kids to bully other kids.  I mean really-nothing says mommy’s boy like being excluded by your mom from sex-ed class.  Then just wait when the kids get out to the playground.  What do you think they are going to talk about?  Everything they learned in the sex-ed class. Duh!

Now I could list off all of the facts that support sex education in schools – like this one from the Guttmacher Institute:

Strong evidence suggests that comprehensive approaches to sex education help young people both to withstand the pressures to have sex too soon and to have healthy, responsible and mutually protective relationships when they do become sexually active.[23]

I won’t bore you with stat after stat in support of comprehensive sex education. I do, however, feel like I need to ask a very important question….

Do you not have enough to do in Kansas?  Seriously….what’s up with bills like this?  I can tell you that my road looks like crap and I pass strip mall after strip mall sitting empty.  How’s that recruiting of new businesses to Kansas thing going?

Please stop wasting taxpayer money and time with bills like this.

Vote no on HB 2620.

Thank you,

Aimee

 

 

Leave a Reply

