Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear Congressman Huelskamp,

I read an article today about you and I thought I should reach out.  You and I have so much in common that it’s almost like we are one in the same.

You like to tweet and I like to tweet.

You are from Kansas and I am from Kansas.

You HATE everything Obama stands for and I…..well….um…

I’m from Kansas!

I have a guilty admission – sometimes when I’m bored and I want to check out what a creepy anti-Obama/anti-Liberal twitter feed looks like I read yours.  You’ve introduced me to such effective and constructive hashtags as #KingObama, #LiberalSicko and my favorite #ObamaScare.  I can only imagine that among lawmakers, your twitter feed is held up as an example to all lawmakers of how to elevate our national dialog and solve America’s problems effectively through social media.

I’m not faulting you for hating Obamacare- no Republicans are fans of ACA and have tried to do EVERYTHING to repeal the law.   I think the number of times Obamacare has been voted to be repealed matches my age and trust me I’m no spring chicken.  Here is one of my favorite tweets to your 11,000+ followers regarding Obamacare.

twitterhuesl2

It’s hard for me to admit this, but the drama meter in your tweets has surpassed me and I’m know around town as the reigning drama queen.  Well done Congressman!

I, like everyone,  have things I hate.  For example, I hate apple pie. People are shocked when I admit I hate apple pie, but I hate hot apples.  I’m never going to get over it.  Trust me –  I’ve tried apple pie hot, I’ve tried it cold, I’ve tried it with ice cream.  Nothing is going to get me to start liking apple pie.

It’s like you and Obamacare – nothing is going to change your mind about the law. Nothing is going to get you to start liking Obamacare.

However, an article today by the Kansas City Star points out that you, Mr. I hate #Obamascare, is signed up for the Affordable Care Act.

 

 

Kansas Rep. Tim Huelskamp, the chairman of the Tea Party Caucus in the U.S. House of Representatives, admits he, too, has enrolled for health care coverage through the Affordable Care Act, despite repeatedly voting to repeal it.

Read more here: http://www.kansascity.com/news/government-politics/article16394978.html#storylink=cpy

Now you contend that you were FORCED to sign up for Obamacare.

 

Asked whether he sees any contradiction between his outspoken opposition to Obamacare and his family’s enrollment, Huelskamp said in a written statement that the law forces members of Congress to sign up.

Like millions of other American families, he said, “we object to this expensive, liberty-attacking mandate.”

 

Liberty-attacking mandate!  I get it.  Once when I was a kid I was forced to eat apple pie.  I hated every bite, but I finished the pie.  That was liberty-attacking.  I didn’t have the liberty to say no, because my mom made me.  I can sympathize with you for being forced to participate in something you hate so much.

But…..here’s the truth, you weren’t really forced to sign up for Obamacare.  There is nothing stopping you from signing up for private coverage for you and your family.

Rep. Louis Gohmert, R-Texas, decided to go without health insurance rather than sign up for Obamacare. Some other lawmakers have said they would go through the private market to avoid the exchanges, including Rep. Frank LoBiondo of New Jersey and Rep. Diane Black of Tennessee, both Republicans.

Based on this admission, it would be like me eating an apple pie while screaming, “this is terrible!” and then quietly asking for another piece.

If you are so passionately against Obamacare like I am against apple pie, we’ll make a deal.  I promise not to eat any apple pie in the future and you need to stop being a member of Obamacare and sign up for private insurance.

Yours for staying away from things we hate,

Aimee

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Cong. Huelskamp hates Obamacare, but is signed up for Obamacare – say what?

  1. galfromkansas says:

    Love it!

  2. JEAppleseed says:

    IS AIMEE PATTON UNAMERICAN!!! SHE HATES APPLE PIE!!!

    In her confessions of “An Apple Pie Hater”, liberal blogger Aimee Patton reveals her distaste for core American principles, while planting her
    seeds of insurrection upon the fruitful plains of Kansas.

    This unprovoked attack upon “Malus domestica” was done with foresight and malice, as she herself admits to oftentimes visiting the home of God-fearing, country-loving, apple pie enthusiasts, in search of information to be used against her prey. Motherhood, baseball, and apple pie? Or, shall this nation be transformed into a zombie zone of orphans, video games, and zucchini bread?

    Stand up America! Tell this blogger to repent for her evil ways, cast off those flaky liberal values, and rejoice in the sweet wholesomeness which is American apple pie!

    John E. Appleseed

    (sponsored by the Midwest Apple Growers of America)

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      This was awesome. Thanks for the smile!

  3. ed says:

    Are you serious?

    Signing up for the unaffordablecare act is the LAW!!!!

  4. ed says:

    How do you know if Sen Huelskamp is receiving a subsidy from the Government? Furthermore, the fines go up this year if you do not have Obamacare.

    All health care in the US is now Obamacare. How do I know this? Because I just tried purchasing health insurance with Humana and guess what? I missed the Obamacare deadline for purchasing health insurance and now I have to wait until next enrollment period. You read that right. Humana cannot and will not sell me their product because of Obamacare. They would be breaking the law. The government is dictating when people can buy your product. Do you see how wrong this is?

    The only way I can purchase healthcare from Humana is if I suffer a life changing event.

    So, I called Blue Cross Blue Shield. Same story. Obama Helath Inc is on vacation until next winter and I have to have a life changing event, but they have a band aid policy that I can buy. The lady at BCBS told me its not a good plan. High premiums and deductibles. No prescriptions paid. A lot of my money will be paid out until BCBS does a thing. Oh and the Obamacare IRS will still fine me for not buying insurance when the Obamcare store was open.

    If Obamacare is so great, then why did Obama have to make up a law so people would be forced to buy it?

Leave a Reply

