Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Dear NRA,

 

It’s me again.  I know I’m not your favorite blogger since we didn’t exactly see eye-to-eye back in 2013 (click here to read about that) or ever for that matter , but I just had to reach out.  It turns out we have something in common.

 

No, I’m not carrying around a lady pistol in my ultra-bedazzeled holster ready to shoot an unsuspecting burglar who wants to break in and steal my rather large and obnoxious  collection of painted wine glasses with sayings like, “without family wine wouldn’t be necessary” or “I am aging like fine wine, complex and fruity.”

 

What we have in common is our love of denial. I’ve been in denial that my blonde hair is really gray.  Yes, I’m a brunette, but I just thought I was suddenly turning blonde.  Hey, it can happen. You have spent years in denial that the homicide rate hasn’t been linked to the repealing of permit laws and safety training in order to own a firearm.

 

Oh how wrong we both were.

 

According to a new study put out by Johns Hopkins University and the University of California, the reduction in homicides is related to permit and training laws.  The study looked at Connecticut’s law passed in 1994 that required people purchasing a gun to get a license and training before obtaining the gun.

 

“In a study released Thursday in the American Journal of Public Health, they estimate that the law reduced gun homicides by 40 percent between 1996 and 2005. That’s 296 lives saved in 10 years.”

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/govbeat/wp/2015/06/12/gun-killings-fell-by-40-percent-after-connecticut-passed-this-law/

 

Here’s my favorite quote from the article,

 

“People assume incorrectly that criminals will do anything and everything in terms of cost and risk to get their hands on a gun,” he said. “But that simply is not what the data tells us.” Connecticut’s law didn’t stop criminals from acquiring guns, but it deterred enough of them that the gun homicide rate dropped.”

 

The study then looked at Missouri who repealed their permit law in 2007 and the homicide rate is up sharply.  My state, Kansas recently passed the same type of legislation and time will tell what our homicide rate will look like in a few years.

 

 

I’m no fortune-teller, but my bet is you are going to dismiss this study.  You are going to say that there are other factors that contributed to the reduction in the homicide rate.  You are going to say that laws that require permits and training infringe on people’s 2nd amendment rights and it’s just not worth it.

 

I think it’s time we both own up to reality.  A 40% reduction rate is enough to ask our state legislatures to pass laws requiring permits and safety training again.   It’s enough to ask you to back off on your lobbying efforts in this area.  I’m going to own up to my gray hair and call the my salon ASAP!

 

Yours for helping to prevent unnecessary gun deaths,

Aimee

10 thoughts on “#GunSense – What the NRA and I have in common

  1. Izzie Independent says:

    Aimee… Aimee….Aimee!! There you go again.

    You write with such humor and sarcasm, yet your political views are so ill-conceived and defective. What gives?

    While you’re constantly remarking on your love of “spirits”, I’ve long ago stopped wondering if your brain has been pickled by the fermented and distilled liquids which you frequently reference.

    When you write– “What we have in common is our love of denial.”–it reminds me of the 12-Step programs for those in recovery. With that in mind, I’ve modified the original 12-Steps to suit your own Liberal Addiction. So, without further ado……..(drum roll)……..

    1) We admitted we were powerless over Liberal Democrat nonsense—that our lives had become unmanageable.
    2) Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity. That the Power was not represented by an “Ass” caricature.
    3) Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him/Her.
    4) Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves. Ouch!!
    5) Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another human being the exact nature of our wrongs. Double ouch!!
    6) Were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character. Hallelujah!!
    7) Humbly asked Him/Her to remove our shortcomings. (insert joke about the vertically-challenged or manhood)
    8) Made a list of all persons we had harmed, and became willing to make amends to them all. Triple ouch!!!
    9) Made direct amends to such people wherever possible, except when to do so would injure them or others.
    10) Continued to take personal inventory, and when we were wrong, promptly admitted it.
    11) Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious contact with God as we understood Him/Her, praying only for knowledge of His/Her will for us and the power to carry that out.
    12) Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps, we tried to carry this message to Liberal Democrats, and to practice these principles in all our affairs.

    Amen. Godspeed Aimee.

    1. lb22 says:

      You missed number thirteen.

      Remember that God is a rather unpleasant fictional character dreamed up by illiterate goat herders a few millenia ago and therefore points 1 thru 12 are nonsense.

      1. Izzie Independent says:

        “…to the care of God as we understood Him/Her”

        If you understand “God” to be a fictional character then that’s perfectly acceptable for you. It fits with what was written “as we understood Him/Her.”

        I’m so pleased to know that you have an accurate account of the history of “illiterate goat herders a few millenia (sp) ago”!!!!!

        Therefore, YOUR points are nonsense. Amateurs who live in glass houses really shouldn’t throw stones.

    2. Rob says:

      O Izzy, Izzy, Izzy. How about addressing the issue that Aimed argues instead of attacking her? You don ‘t really have an arguement, do you?

      1. Izzie Independent says:

        Well, Rob…….when you write “Aimed” I’m not entirely sure who you’re referring to, so perhaps you’d like to check your post.

        And you’re absolutely correct, I don’t have an “arguement”, but I see that you do, and I feel your pain!!

        Do you honestly believe that Aimee posts these humorous, sarcastic musings just to get some lackey “yes men” agreeing with her point of view repeatedly? I don’t believe that is the case, as that would make her a pathetic shallow individual reluctant to engage in spirited debate. Instead, I think she uses this blog as an outlet to vent some of her frustration in a passive-aggressive way, which is a more socially acceptable manner than publicly calling someone a vulgar name.

        My response attempts to use humor (perhaps you failed to pick up on that) to challenge her, while refraining from outright attacks or profanity. I understand though if many are incapable of comprehending these concepts.

  2. Rick Cooley says:

    Reblogged this on Rcooley123's Blog and commented:
    That’s asking an awful lot of them. But we can dream.

  3. Hi Aimee, I live in NY & I hunt & fish & so I own guns. I think you talk a lot of sense. Don’t listen to those jerks.

  4. Jan Hobbs says:

    Reblogged this on Blissfully Single and commented:
    To good to pass up.

  5. Stin Barbie says:

    As much as I support people training with firearms I am against gubment mandates on basic principle- that said I find any study that ‘finds’ such tailored answers for political issues by claiming ‘laws’ solved it extremely dubious given how well ‘laws’ work at preventing crime in general.
    For the record I have committed fewer crimes than many of those who have written/voted for the laws themselves.

Leave a Reply

