Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

I have been meaning to write about this story for a while, but I have been so busy lately.  There is keeping up with Donald Trump’s latest rant, my first time playing Fantasy Football and now the pizza rat video that has kept me so occupied that I almost let this story slip by without commenting on it.

Take a second and check out the very entertaining pizza rat.  You will thank me later.

 

Anyhoo….if you haven’t heard, Kris Kobach’s office is being sued.

Gasp!  Is it for his never ended quest to make everyone bring in their driver’s license, a sample of blood and their first-born in order to vote in an election?

Nope. (not in this case anyway)

Kris Kobach’s office is being sued by a woman who was fired.  She claims she was fired because she didn’t attend Bible study.

When I first read this story I thought to myself, “Wow Kris those are some killer hours you make your staff work.  Most people give their staff Sundays off so they can be with their families and go to religious services.”

Then I read the story and it turns out that the Bible study was held  during work hours – as in Monday-Friday.

“The Kansas secretary of state’s office has acknowledged in a court document that it sporadically hosts Bible study sessions, but has denied firing an employee for not attending them.”

Of course the secretary of state’s office said that the employee wasn’t “required” to go to the Bible study sessions.  Let’s look at it this way.  If your boss came by and said, “Hey Aimee I’m hosting a happy hour this afternoon.  It’s a good idea that you be there, but you aren’t required to go.”  Guess what I would do?

A. Ignore my boss and keep working.

B. Tell my boss – FORGET YOU and storm out the door.

C. Pack up my cubicle and go get my drink on.

If you answered “C” you would be correct, because it’s my boss and I’m a good employee.  Now change out the word “happy hour” for Bible study and you can see where I’m coming from.  I’m sure the employee wasn’t “required” to go to the alleged Bible study, but I’m sure it was noted who was absent.

Now I’m not a smart lawyer like Kobach, but I think I can offer up a solution to this problem – have a Bible study on days that start with “S” that way no one will feel pressure to attend.  It also means that my Kansas tax dollars going to fund your Bible study during work hours.

Now I’ve got to get back to watching pizza rat.  That’s a rat on a mission!

Yours for keeping religion out of government,

Aimee

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kobach’s office sued for Bible study – of course they deny it.

  1. Rob McKnight says:

    Still love you.

    We need to start a church … Not just like John Oliver to show the abuses of the 501(c)(3) tax abuses of the Big Box Pastors … but so we can do a religious intervention on Kris.

    I have not Googled “Kris + Bible” but will do so soon.

    I know you would never do something like publish KK’s private e-mail address and/or home address and urge the members of the Aimee Patton Congregation to sign him up for EVERY RELIGIOUS MAILING possible.

    Please let me know if we need to get together and prey (sic) about this.

    Rob

    Rob McKnight 5259 West 121st Street Overland Park, Kansas 66209-3539 (913) 642-4559

    >

  2. Annette Burnsides says:

    I will never cease to be amazed at what this guy will try to get away with. Good blog.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

