Aimee Patton

A pleasantly eccentric take on politics

Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach, the Superhero of Voter Fraud had a win this week.  You might remember him as the Secretary of State who championed the strictest voter i.d. laws in the country.  To vote in Kansas, you now have to present the following:

  1. A valid drivers license/ passport
  2. A note from your mom saying you are worthy
  3. A  picture of you outside the hospital where you were born
  4. An updated Facebook relationship status to “voting Republican in Kansas”
  5. Your report card from 2nd grade

Voting is so complex in Kansas – the Secretary of State’s office launched a website to help people understand it http://www.gotvoterid.com/ with a flashy marketing tag line “Got Voter ID?” (psst…the Got Milk folks called and they want their marketing campaign back.)

 

There is even a 14 page voter registration kit that people can download to help them understand the simple voter registration process.    Kansas-Voter-Registration-Kit

 

You know this system is messed up when you have to download a “kit” to register to vote.  

 

BUT all this hard work has paid off. Kobach is kicking voter fraud ass and taking names! Between the invaluable kits and his take no prisoners stance on voter fraud – the last I heard he had identified six thousand  new cases of voter fraud.

News Flash

….not exactly six thousand.

Kobach also announced Monday three new voter fraud cases, including one in Johnson County, to add to three that were announced last fall.

Kobach has vowed to fight fraudulent voting with tougher registration laws and prosecutions, and last year the Legislature gave him the power to prosecute voter fraud. He is the only secretary of state in the nation who has such authority.

Read more here: http://www.kansascity.com/news/government-politics/article56474273.html#storylink=cpy

 

So kindergarten math makes my head hurt, but if I add that up correctly 3+3=6.  That’s a whopping 6 new cases of voter fraud!  I have to tip my hat and say, “well done sir!”

 

Guns Have Feelings Too

 

We  often think of guns just as cold killing machines, but one Kansas Republican wants us to remember that guns have feelings too.  Jacob Laturner, R-KS filed a bill this week to protect guns from discrimination in our state.  Remember Brownback removed the protection for LGBT state employees earlier this year and they can now be fired in our state just for being gay, but this Kansas lawmaker wants to remind us who the real victims are when it comes to discrimination- gun owners.  From the bill –

 

Sec. 3. It shall be an unlawful discriminatory practice for any person
to refuse to provide any goods or services of any kind, to refrain from
continuing an existing business relationship, to terminate an existing
business relationship with or otherwise discriminate against a person or
trade association solely because a person is engaged in the lawful
commerce of firearms or ammunition products and who is licensed
pursuant to chapter 44 of title 18 of the United States code or a trade
association as defined by this act.

 
I challenge Senator Lautner to show me  examples of gun owner discrimination to warrant this type of legislation.  Meanwhile I’m sure the LGBT community could provide me examples of discrimination that justify upholding the executive order that Brownback so easily dismantled.
 
I had my assistant, Gus the Cat, take a look at the bill for review and he thought it makes a better cat toy than Kansas law.

 

Gus

9 thoughts on “This week in Kansas crazy – Kobach voter fraud and guns have feelings too

  1. Dennis Cole says:

    Still Kra-z in Kanzass!

  2. Byron Funkhouser says:

    The right to vote is our most basic right. The burden should not be on voters to prove they are eligible, the burden should be on the state to prove that we are not. Otherwise, voting is not a right, but a privilege.

    I give to myself the right to not do business with anyone who owns a handgun, because I refuse to believe that a sane person would own a murder weapon.

    1. Aimee Patton says:

      Excellent comment. Thanks for that. I appreciate it. Aimee

    2. Some guy says:

      Indeed. And these people with their own home arsenals… Sick, sick, sick!

    3. KSDeputy says:

      Murder weapon huh? How about a police officer that carries a gun? Is that a “Murder weapon” that he carries, or something that could end a threat? Just curious.

      1. Byron Funkhouser says:

        No, of course not. But, if the people weren’t armed to the teeth, then you wouldn’t have to be. English police men went hundreds of years without the need to carry guns.

        Why on earth would you think I meant police men?

    4. 2ndChances says:

      13 years ago, I was a wild child living with an abusive boyfriend in Olathe. I had a problem with alcohol and he drank and did drugs both. It was a really bad situation but I didn’t know how bad things would get, and it seemed like my life had always been bad. After leaving him, and finding a new place, he kept finding me and following me everywhere. When he finally figured out that I wouldn’t go back with him, he came into the place where I was waitressing to kill me. He shot me in the shoulder, and my manager in the gut before a customer pulled his own gun and shot and killed him dead. It was all over before the police could get there. My manager and I both survived after surgery, but I know I’d be dead if that man hadn’t defended me with his own gun.

      I moved away from Olathe within a year, because I needed a fresh start for me and my daughter. The man who saved my life never wanted any attention though the TV people wanted to interview him for a story. One time I was shopping at the mall with my daughter and I saw him with his wife, I busted out crying and nearly collapsed, cause all the memory came back in a flash. My daughter started crying and asked what was wrong. I just told her that I saw an angel who had saved my life when she was a little girl. I’m now married to a wonderful man, and my daughter graduates from high school next year. I understand lots of people don’t like guns, but good people sometimes carry guns to keep their family safe. I know. I’m alive today and turned my life around because an angel saved my life.

      1. Aimee Patton says:

        Thank you for commenting on my blog. Domestic violence is a very serious problem in our community. I am thankful that you and your manager survived the incident. All the best to you and your daughter. Aimee

  3. Polly Tishon says:

    So, I was talking to my long-time neighbors (the Pews) over the weekend. They’re an older retired couple with grown children, honest, independent, conservative….the salt of the earth. Representative of the people who’ve made Kansas a great state for generations. He had a military career followed by consulting work, and Ms. Pew was a Marine Biology researcher at Scripps in San Diego.

    The Pews were sharing with me some of the political/sociological research they’ve compiled, and I’ll quote some of the highlights below:
    http://www.people-press.org/2015/11/23/beyond-distrust-how-americans-view-their-government/
    Currently, just 19% say they can trust the government always or most of the time, among the lowest levels in the past half-century. Only 20% would describe government programs as being well-run. And elected officials are held in such low regard that 55% of the public says “ordinary Americans” would do a better job of solving national problems.

    The partisan divide over the size and scope of government remains as wide as ever: Support for smaller government endures as a Republican touchstone. Fully 80% of Republicans and Republican-leaning independents say they prefer a smaller government with fewer services, compared with just 31% of Democrats and Democratic leaners.

    At a general level, the public finds the government frustrating and badly managed. Just 20% say the federal government runs its programs well, and 59% say it is in need of “very major reform,” up 22 percentage points since 1997. Just 42% of Democrats and 30% of Republicans say the government does well in lifting people out of poverty.

    For years, the public’s general feelings about government have tended more toward frustration than anger. Currently, 22% say they are “angry” at the federal government; 57% are “frustrated,” and 18% say they are “basically content.”

    In Barack Obama’s six years as president, 13% of Republicans, on average, have said they can trust the government always or most of the time – the lowest level of average trust among either party during any administration dating back 40 years. During George W. Bush’s presidency, an average of 47% of Republicans said they could trust the government. By contrast, the share of Democrats saying they can trust the government has been virtually unchanged over the two administrations (28% Bush, 29% Obama).

    Overall, nearly two-thirds of Americans (64%) say that on the issues that matter to them, their side loses more often than it wins. Just 25% say their side comes out ahead more often.
    This sense of “losing” is more widely shared among Republicans than Democrats – large majorities of both conservative Republicans (81%) and moderate and liberal Republicans (75%) say their political side loses more often than it wins.

    Negative views of elected officials are hardly a new phenomenon – for years, large majorities have faulted elected officials for losing touch with Americans and not caring about the views of average people. But with the election approaching, the criticisms of elected officials have taken on an especially sharp edge. Just 22% of the public say that most elected officials put the interests of the country ahead of their own interests; 74% say they put their own interests ahead of the nation’s.

    And elected officials receive very low marks for honesty. Just 29% say the term “honest” describes elected officials.

    59% say the GOP is too willing to cut government programs, even when they work; an identical percentage (59%) says the Democratic Party too often sees government as the only way to solve problems.
    ———
    Ok, so long story short, the People Are Angry my friends…..like an old man trying to send back soup in a deli.
    Aimee has plenty of company on both sides of the aisle when venting her frustrations. What’s truly funny, is that both Democrat and Republican cheerleaders claim their side loses more often than not!! Maybe they should drop politics as an avocation and take up cat-herding.

Leave a Reply

